We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$128
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
271
181
105
51
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
271
181
105
51
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomdyson fanfrosted glasshuge tvfree callscoffee machinebathroom blindamazing gymmodern hoteltribute nightsky tvmod conspost codeleisure facilitiessat navstandard roompark and ride
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Overall the hotel is lovely rooms are clean and tidy
But when it comes to sleeping the sound proofing is terrible you can her people down stairs in there pub u can hear the music from the gym u can hear people opening and closing there shower doors and bedroom doors !!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karlbantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

hi karlbantin,

Thanks for the review.

I am very sorry you did not get the opportunity to relax. the rooms are well designed and offer a lot of sound protection, so it must have been a particularly noisy evening. Next time you stay let me know and I'll make sure you have one of the rooms on the top floor!

regards,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

The rooms were very nice and clean. I loved the gadgets.The service in the hotel was great as well. There was plenty of parking. Overall highly recommended, very good value for money. I will definitely come back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annaski2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi annaski2018,

thanks for the great review!

Good to hear you were well looked after and I hope we get to se you again soon!

Regards,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Being a regular user of Village Club rooms across the UK , I was really disappointed in this new concept style hotel, the club room was so small my girlfriend and I just didn't have enough room to get past each other and she nearly collapsed over the glass fronted bathroom and toilet, which isn't really good when your sharing a room. Needless to say she went downstairs to use the public loo rather than using the one in the room as she felt embarrassed. (the modest glass isn't good and you can here all bodily functions as the bed is virtually on top of the toilet so I did understand.

Its full of gadgetry and has a large flat screen TV, ideal for solo travellers on business but not couples or families sorry. Breakfast was poor, slow and food cold, young staff seem untrained and not to care. Asked to see the Manager who wasn't available.

Sports facilities were good but very busy, good location for business in Portsmouth but certainly wont be using these concept hotels again, just wish it had been clearer ion the web pages when booking,

Room Tip: Solo traveller only at this hotel
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi Steve,

thanks for taking the time to offer feedback.

I am very sorry the new concept is not for you, whilst most of our guests love the quirky and individual feel to the hotel; I do understand some people are more traditionalist.

I have pased on your comments about the restaurant as it is not at all like them and we always have a manager on duty so I am unsure of what happened there.

Regards,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

What is there not to like about this very modern and welcoming hotel. Located very close to the M27 with routes east and west as well as in to the centre of Portsmouth this is in an ideal location.

On arrival there is plenty of parking space, greeted by a very helpful and friendly member of staff who guided me through the self check in process which is very easy.
Once in my room I was met with an array of gadets to play with, a huge flat screen TV on one wall a lovely walk in shower and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom and bedroom are devided by a large glass partion that with the flick of a switch becomes frosted very neat. :)
Tea and coffee making facilities along with an iron and board should you need one.
Breakfast was well worth the additional £7.50 with plenty to choose from all freshly cooked.
The restaurant has a wide choice of meals with something for everyone and at a good price although the bar prices are a little on the high side..

Would recomened as a great place to spend a night.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi Steve,

Thanks for the review and the recommendation!

You seem to have used and enjoyed everything we have to offer.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Very modern hotel, something similar to chain of Maldron hotel or Holiday inn. I would say this was much needed for the area. Something slightly different and new! Was pleasantly impressed with controlled frosted glass in the bathroom. Very clean place, good comfortable bed, cool little gadget in place - Handy for internet browsing, etc. Staff was very good and helpful at the 24/7 Reception.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank otrueb225296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi otrueb225296,

Thanks for the review!

You seemed to really enjoy it, so hopefully we'll get to see you again soon!

Regards,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews