We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Anvil Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
47 reviews
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winchcombe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David P
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our 2nd stay at Anvil Cottage as lovely as last time , some new furniture this time ( welcome new bed & mattress , too soft last time ) all as clean & tidy as last time.
Nice surprize finding our favorite wine in fridge ( lucky guess?) tea & coffee etc..
Couple of small things , large shower head not working this time which we loved last time , but small one still ok so did have a working shower , and new small sofa in lounge not so good as we like to cuddle up & watch tv after long day looking around the local villages & sites etc.. but that's just us !
Other then that a lovely place and will probably stay again some time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: new bed , location
Liked least: shower head not working & small sofa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee G
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend break”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I celebrated our 2nd wedding anniversary with a long weekend in the Cotswolds, and Anvil Cottage was definitely the icing on the cake. The cottage is well-presented and equipped with everything you could possibly want - including a washing machine! I'm the kind of person who packs everything but the kitchen sink, but we didn't have done at all as towels, tea and coffee and a lovely bottle of wine were all waiting for us on arrival. The location was perfect too, a short drive away from some great attractions like Sudely Castle and Hailes Abbey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsav25
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Value Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife booked Anvil Cottage for two nights as part of a weekend getaway for our anniversary. We had our little girl (14 months) with us and stayed for two nights.

We booked via an online lettings website and paid via Paypal, all very simple and easy.

The owner then emailed confirmation and details, as well as some good recommendations on where to go, where to eat etc. Very helpful.

On arrival there was a dedicated parking space for us, in a nice little lane where a few cottages sit. It's lovely and quiet and has a real 'hidden gem' feel to it. Don't blink or you'll miss the turning!

First impressions were excellent. The cottage was clean and very nicely decorated, kind of clean and modern but at the same time giving that traditional cottage vibe. There was a bottle of the wine in the fridge (didn't last long - lovely, thanks!) and some nice home-made style cards for purchase on the side.

I would say it's a nice cosy stay for two people, but clearly no more than that. There's a living room with kitchen (wardrobe is in the living room), one double bedroom and a bathroom - so not really room for any more than 2. Our daughter stayed in a travel cot with us in the double room, which was fine.

It's not pokey or too small, but it's not huge. Hard to get across. "Cosy" is the word I would use. It was lovely of an evening just my wife an I, some cheese and biscuits and the TV. It's all you need for a short stay visiting the local areas. The cottage has WiFi too which was a nice touch, great for researching local pubs on my phone.

Within a 2 minute walking range you have a co-op for supplies, a couple of pubs (Lion is recommended by all reviews) and quite a few little local non-chain shops offering all sorts of interesting things. There's a nice deli just after the co-op offering posh nosh for a little treat.

Bourton-on-the-Water is about a 20 minute drive away, and it's a nice drive too - all country lanes. We stumbled across a pub called the Hollow Bottom which served excellent food, real ales and had a fireplace with free marshmallows!

The only thing I would change would be to add a little curtain on the front door window for privacy, but then again, there's no through path anyway so who would be there?

A perfect, good value stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hidden location, a lovely little lane off of an already quiet road.
Liked least: The rainfall shower didn't really work, but there was another shower head anyway so no big deal.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire...
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well located”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a lovely cottage situated only a short distance from all the amenities in Winchcombe and which proved to be a perfect location to visit all other towns and attractions in the Cotswolds and the Malvern Hills. The cottage is very well presented and provided for all our basic needs. This is the first time my partner and I have stayed in a holiday rental but, based on this experience, it is unlikely to be our last. Thank you Julia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muddypudd...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A lovely cottage, beautifully and comfortably furnished. Very well equipped and with quality towels and bedding. Peaceful location with many amenities within walking distance.
We found it very convenient for exploring the Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$84
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing