We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic stay in the Cotswolds”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old School House
         (Built 1846)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old School House
         (Built 1846)
View from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Old School House
         (Built 1846)
View from the kitchen
Kitchen / Breakfast Room
Sitting Room
Dining
Bedroom One
Bedroom Two
Tv Room / Bedroom Three with a sofa bed
View from TV Room
'Victorian Princess' bed (large single)
June 2015
Garden
Shower room
1st floor bathroom
Boot Room
The original school bell
Free parking outside the front gate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
The Slaughters, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
eldiener
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“A fantastic stay in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a lovely stay at the Old School House! We were welcomed with biscuits on the kitchen table and milk in the refrigerator. The house is beautiful and comfortable. Everything we needed was easily accessible and provided. The gardens, and its location overlooking the river, make this a very special place. Our family of four and my parents really enjoyed our week here ... it was hard to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill10457
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The quintessential Cotswold cottage experience!”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is the type of place you hope will live up to your lifelong dream of a cottage stay in the Cotswolds....only to find it surpasses even your dream of how wonderful it could be!! Our booking experience was easy, with excellent and clear communications from our hostess Lucia. When we arrived, the cottage exterior and location took our breath away. Upper Slaughter has to be one of the most unspoiled villages in the Cotswolds. It was so blessedly quiet and beautiful. The interior was out of a magazine with beamed ceiling, stone walls, cozy fireplace, sloping ceilings upstairs, comfortable furniture and bedding, antiques, and all the charm one would expect. The kitchen and bathrooms were well fitted with every amenity we could possibly need. I truly wanted to throw away the world and move in forever! Lol! We spent so much time just sitting in the comfortable lawn chairs provided overlooking the village green pinching ourselves to make sure we weren't dreaming! It was so hard to pull ourselves away to go touring but there are so many attractions and historical treasures to visit within such a short distance! One favorite recommendation is taking the walk on the Warden way towards Bourton on the Water for total countryside immersion. Not strenuous but totally enjoyable. We were just a party of two but I can see where the cottage is set up beautifully for families as well with a TV/Play room perfect for children. We will always remember our stay with great happiness and will definitely come back to stay again! What a perfect place! ❤️

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChunTait...
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Rental.”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the Old Schoolhouse. It was perfectly located for the wedding we attended at The Lords of the Manor, just across the road. And the church was just behind the Schoolhouse!
The building was charmingly rustic with lots of interesting knickknacks, but with modern conveniences like large fridge, wifi, modern baths, etc.
Also, Lucia was a joy to work with.

I would recommend this rental.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariepO69...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't fault it!”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us had a double and one twin room. The old schoolhouse was beautifully decorated, quiet, and well equipped with everything we needed. The heating was superb with a log-burner as well. Just loved this place. Thank you Lucia and Andrew

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arora L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I am”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely house, plenty of space for a family of four, great location. Well equipped and owner easy to deal with. Quiet, pretty village with its own ford to paddle about in, good walking and easy driving to lots of activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$201
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing