We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
57
76
52
25
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
76
52
25
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai restaurant train station central location badminton horse trials good nights sleep birthday party stayed here for one night no lift friday night tea and coffee comfortable room an overnight stay pleasant stay lovely food cooked breakfast warm welcome the pub
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Very helpful staff who explained menu and looked after us very nicely throughout our meal. The special lunchtime menu was discussed in detail and this is what we decided on.

Drink bought to the table and water topped up by the waitress without having to ask!

Excellent meal nicely presented.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

The service was very good and the food was delicious. We had to eat early as the film we were going to see was early evening. This meant the atmosphere was lacking a bit of sparkle. The building is a lovely one directly adjacent to the railway station. I'd definitely eat there again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Samhorn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Just stayed here a couple of nights with 6 family members and have had a very pleasant stay. Despite the exterior appearance the hotel is bright, clean and comfortable. Staff were courteous and informative and it was good to be able to use the hotel car park. The cooked breakfasts were excellent. Despite every single one of us having different requests ( well done egg, gluten free, raw tomato, etc) orders were taken rapidly and with a smile and every one arrived perfectly. The food was all freshly cooked, good quality and tasty. Well done, not an easy task!!!!!
Thanks for a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LovelifeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Read some reviews and was a little concerned, but sort of looking forward to meeting Basil Fawlty, disappointed to find that the staff were excellent and not at all rude! The place could do with a little TLC on the outside, but inside the dining room was good, the bedroom was adequate, he bed was comfy, e evening meal was good (but I am a Thai food fan), the breakfast was very good too. There were some unsavory characters outside, but it is by the station and so expected I suppose, but they DID stay outside. All in, a pat on the back for this hotel l and its staff. Wifi was a bit hit and miss though.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Cliff_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Do yourself a favour and find somewhere else to stay. On top of the poor 1970s decor and terrible faculties, the owner is hands down the rudest individual I have ever met in the hotel industry - imagine Basil Faulty on steroids!!!!!

There are numerous quality hotels in the area so why stay in this dump and be subjected to abuse!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank 0910057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakshman G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

I am sorry to say, You never stayed in our hotel.
I asked you to move your car to the public car park next to the hotel.
I explained to you that the hotel car park is only and exclusively only for our guests and customers.
You were not either of them.
Unfortunately our car park spaces are limited and we have a first come, first served basis for our guests and customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews