We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Country Pub”
Review of The Butchers Arms

The Butchers Arms
Ranked #5 of 146 Restaurants in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We used to visit this pub often over 10 years ago, until the landlords ( two brothers) left and the atmosphere & quality changed. However on seeing the great reviews on TripAdvisor we thought we would give it another try for a Saturday lunch. We were so pleased that we did. We had a great friendly welcome from the manager, the atmosphere was lovely and it was obviously very popular. It is a really lovely pub. We could have chosen any number of dishes on the extensive menu. Our lunch was quite superb and all the dishes the waitress brought out looked equally tempting. We will visit again soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Townfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Townfans

Which town are you fans of!!

We were delighted to welcome you and equally happy you all enjoyed your return visit

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Keep smiling, take care

Philip, Alison and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

This is a little gem of a place for a Sunday lunch.

In late September , we went as big family group of 8.

They had 81 covers in - but you did not feel rushed and the food and service was excellent.

The traditional Sunday Roats were tasty and the vegetables a great accompaniment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Morning Richard P

Delighted you all enjoyed and equally happy you choose here for your Sunday Lunch

We look forward to welcoming back soon

Take care, keep smiling

Philip, Alison and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Best to book for this pub as Sunday lunch is always packed
Really friendly and helpful staff, excellent service and the roast was lovely nice and hot ,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Hello Kathy S

Thank you for your kind and succinct review, does exactly what it says on the tin!

Look forward to welcoming you back, the sooner the better as we say in the hospitality business!

Take care, keep smiling

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Travelled to stay with friends in the Cotswolds, Oakridge Lynch and couldn't access their home by previous arrangement - the key didn't fit - what to do for two days waiting? Head to the Butchers Arms and ask local advice. Philip and staff outstanding and caring - local 'villagers' etc. extraordinary also - had accommodation within a few hours and was drinking it in at the pub! The food was excellent with pizzas - in-house and takeaway outstanding - plus beer and service given the 'language' difficulties for them (joking) brilliant and plentiful - easily overcome - Philip's son a good host also - fine place to enjoy a small misfortune and will be heading back as soon as possible. If you want a taste of English village life - tread the floors of the Butchers Arms.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trailswest2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Hello Trailwest2008

I gather you have made it home safe and sound!!

It was all Nick and Caroline's fault, nothing to do with me just to clarify :)

We were delighted to look after you it is always nice to cater for someone so laid back as your good self

Look forward to seeing you back in the future ( I doubt they will make the same mistake twice........could they!!)

Take care, safe journeys, keep smiling

Philip, Alison and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Stumbled upon The Butchers Arms over the weekend. It was Sunday around 1pm so we popped in to see if we could get a roast. The place was very busy (obviously very popular and can see why now!). All staff were exceptionally friendly and chatty despite being run off their feet. We got chatting to Philip and he said he might be able to squeeze us in if we waited around a while, which we did and our meal was well worth the short wait! We had roast dinners with a delicious selection of vegetables. Easily the best Sunday roasts we've ever had in a pub, and the desserts were incredible too! Food was excellent value. We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon there, with landlady Alison, husband Philip and all the team looking after us so well! It's just a shame we live so far away or this would certainly be our new local!!

Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Hello Sam H

I gather you both made it home safe and sound!

It was a pleasure to have you both and we appreciated your patience and most of all the laugh and chat

Delighted you enjoyed, really appreciate the kind review, look forward to seeing you both before February!!

Take care, Keep smiling

Philip, Alison and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Butchers Arms also viewed

Eastcombe, Stroud
Stonehouse, Stroud
 

Been to The Butchers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing