We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Butchers Arms

The Butchers Arms
Ranked #5 of 146 Restaurants in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Nice pub. Friendly staff. Good beer. Great value. Make sure you book because it isn't a huge place and looks pretty busy. We sat in the garden and both had burgers. They were perfect. And the coleslaw was gorgeous. Sadly no room for puddings. If we lived nearer we would definitely be locals!

Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Good morning Debbie,

Hope you are well

Thank you for your kind review, delighted you enjoyed, pity you do not live near by we love having as many locals joining us as possible

Take care, keep smiling

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 182 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Sunday lunch can only be described as beautiful today. Every mouthful tasted and cherished. I think the secret could be the interesting combination of flavours. The plate full of quality meat and each veg selection compliment each other to make Sunday lunch different to other pubs. If you want something to remember and want to go back for more, then go to the butchers.
We also go for lunch on a regular basis on Friday and that too is quality and always enjoyed by the guys at the garages with hearty appetites.
So to sum up my review, whatever the day and whatever the reason go to this pub and you will be greeted by friendly staff and treated to a journey of taste sensations and also get amazing ham, egg and chips! X
Thank you for always going that extra mile in the kitchen and front of house x
Lorraine & tim and the boys from T&M Autos and GT Auto's Bisley

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Lorraine and Tim

Thank you both for visiting on Sunday it was great to see you both and thank you all for your continued custom that includes Mark, Paul and Ben ( I know they will be very upset if I do not give them a mention!!! :) )

It is always a pleasure and never a chore when you all arrive Friday or any other day, you all brighten up the place on your arrival not to mention your departure ......only joking !!

Look forward to seeing you all again soon

Keep smiling, take care and try not to work toooooo hard

Philip, Alison and the team
PS Tim, Bolognese is on the Specials !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Really nice pub which made a welcome stop on our walk last Friday. Good service from a lovely young lady who took pride in her job and her village. The Club sandwich was amazing - so fed up when paying £5-6 for a sandwich and its the type which you could have made at home and wrapped up to take with you. This was outstanding. We visit Cotswold's at least once a month and this is definitely the place we will book for evening meal on our next visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LStoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hello LStoppy

I will let Suzie know, thank you for giving her a mention and a very kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed and we look forward to welcoming back for that evening meal you mentioned

See youy next month!!

Take care, keep smiling

Philip, Alison and the team especially Suzie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

A three generation visit to this Pub for Sunday lunch.( Pre-booked) The roast was excellent with a good selection of vegetables and other options available. The real issue here was the 'break' between finishing our roast meals, ordering desserts, and them actually arriving! With a two year old it is always a challenge to 'entertain' them between courses, we opted for regular trips into the garden, but after 30 mins wait and others around being served hot food we asked where the desserts had got to - rather concerning the immediate response then was that the dessert cutlery arrived almost immediately followed by our desserts - suggesting to us that they had been 'sat waiting' - but hot food deliveries to later arrivals had been prioritised - not a good system !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hello Tim

Thank you all 3 Generations for arriving for your Sunday lunch and yes you were pre-booked, other wise as we on a Sunday to walkins, no booking no table, we do not turn our tables it is there for the duaration of the diners discretion with no emphasis on rush but on enjoying yourselves!

I will apologise again for the delay in receiving your desserts, we did apologies about the late arrival of the deserts to your table and again when your partner came to pay, I personally apologised, I explained that much as we try to stagger the arrival of diners on this ocassion over 30 arrived together which put alot of pressure on the kitchen, the person on the dessert station gave a helping hand, we work as a team, so yes dessert on this occassion took a unintentional back seat.When you are trying to please everybody this can happen in a busy kitchen, it is with the best will in the world and not, I assure you done to upset our customers, which happened on this occassion.

The desserts were actually just finished being made when Susie came to the kitchen to check their status for you, hence they arrived out so promptly.

I appreciate it is not easy to entertain a 2yr old at the best of times ( been there and got a stained t/shirt to show for it!!)

Delighted you all enjoyed your food and we look forward to welcoming you back

Take care, keep smiling


Philip, Alison and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely pub. Great/charming service and very good food. Fab atmosphere (wish this was my local!). Thanks to Philip, Alison and the team for a very relaxing lunch.

Thank MrsDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Mrs DT

Thank you for your short and very kind review and for giving my wife Alison a mention she will be delighted

We are also very happy you enjoyed your lunch, look forward to welcoming back in the near future

Keep smiling, take care

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Butchers Arms also viewed

Eastcombe, Stroud
Stonehouse, Stroud
 

Been to The Butchers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing