We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!”
Review of Huffkins

Huffkins
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Huffkins is a bit unusual. We are an independent family business with our own craft bakery and a heritage that stretches back to 1890. Established in Burford, at the heart of the Cotswolds, by Mr Titcombe our breads and cakes were originally delivered by donkey and cart. Given the impracticalities of donkeys we have modernised some things over the years - but we still bake everything by hand. Our bakers work through the night to create everything from the bread for our sandwiches to the fresh cream cakes in our shops. We believe very firmly in sourcing ingredients locally wherever possible.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very disappointing visit. The tea was advertised as house blend but was just one tea bag in a pot that was meant for leaf tea. My friends sausage roll was over cooked and not very meaty. Several cakes were display only and not available to buy!!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank HazelS362
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow Huffkins, Assistant manager at Huffkins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear HazelIs362
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
Our teas are now served in tea bags In a tea pot. I can only apologise that the cakes you wanted we had sold out of on the day you came in. Please do try us again soon.
Kind regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We met up with some friends for tea and coffee, didn’t eat. It was fine for that. Musak was initially too loud but they turned it down. The atmosphere was better when it filled up.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Googly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow Huffkins, Assistant manager at Huffkins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Googly2010
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us.we do hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2021

We chose this place for high tea. The service was good and the room was spacious. There was a large selection of cakes, patisseries and dishes for vegetarians and vegan.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bhaz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow Huffkins, Assistant manager at Huffkins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Bhaz06
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us. We do hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2021

I was interested to try the lardy cake as I had read good things about it online. It was so good. It is like a Chelsea bun but a bit sticker from the glaze on top. The cafe was busy and we received a warm welcome from the lady at the counter who took our order and bought over our drinks and cakes. I then decided to go and buy some more cakes to take home for our eldest son to try and a gluten-free chocolate brownie for our youngest son. We were also given a 10% discount as we had bought some additional cakes to take home which was a lovely touch.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wendy404
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow Huffkins, Assistant manager at Huffkins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Wendy404
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your scone and lardy cake which we make in our bakery you can also go online at huffkins.com and you can have the lardy cakes delivered to you door.
We do hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

Incredible food and attention to detail. We had carrot cake and a Victoria sponge with decaf coffee. Both cakes were fresh, moist and delicious. We sat outside and enjoyed the wonderful view of the towns square.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank JaybirdUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow Huffkins, Assistant manager at Huffkins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear jaybirduk
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and especially the hand made cakes. We do hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huffkins also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to Huffkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.