We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying Cream Tea”
Review of Huffkins

Huffkins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Huffkins is a bit unusual. We are an independent family business with our own craft bakery and a heritage that stretches back to 1890. Established in Burford, at the heart of the Cotswolds, by Mr Titcombe our breads and cakes were originally delivered by donkey and cart. Given the impracticalities of donkeys we have modernised some things over the years - but we still bake everything by hand. Our bakers work through the night to create everything from the bread for our sandwiches to the fresh cream cakes in our shops. We believe very firmly in sourcing ingredients locally wherever possible.
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere with friendly amusing service from a young Eric Morecambe lookalike.
The scones were freshly made and delicious with ample jam and cream. Delicious. Tea made with fresh leaves rather than tea bags.
All very authentic and typically English. What more could one wish for.
Fancy a cream tea at excellent value? This is the place for you.
Try it. You'll love it.

Thank GazNipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Huffkins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear GazNipper,

I am delighted to hear that you really liked your visit at Stow Huffkins.
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write such a lovely review.

When you are next in Stow on the Wold, come and see us again for another cream tea, or perhaps snack, or light lunch. Not to mention our very filling full English breakfasts! They really are to die for.

We look forward to seeing you soon,
Annabella Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Good old fashion coffee shop. Huge home made cakes and very yummy. Other light meals excellent also. Large plateful and very tasty. Reasonable prices friendly staff. Cosy atmosphere. Will dedicate Ju return

Thank heather p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Huffkins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear heather p,

thank you very much for your 5 star review, I am glad you were satisfied with the food, the service and the prices as well.
Our business have now got 5 sites, so wherever you are in the Cotswolds, there will always be a Huffkins nearby.
If you have a chance, please visit our Burford, Cheltenham, Stratford upon Avon or Witney sites to enjoy the same delicious cakes and loose leaf teas, or a meal with some friends and family.

Kind regards,
Annabella Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

When surrounded by so much charm and places to eat you have to try and look past all that and concentrate on why you are sitting there, food!
Well our brunch was very tasty and nicely presented, with a good portion size. The staff are friendly and helpful and we made a good choice.
The only problem, and it's the bane of many establishments, a broken toilet seat in the gents, so be prepared for the toilet seat shuffle!

Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Huffkins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear Steve O,

many thanks for reviewing Huffkins at Stow on the Wold.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food and service you have received.
Thank you for making us aware of the broken toilet seat, it has now been mended.

We very much look forward to having your custom again soon.

Kind regards,
Annabella Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

So enjoyed a cream tea at this delightful tea room. Really friendly staff , great atmosphere. Located on the main road, we just had to go in. And glad we did. Next door is their shop where you can buy anything from cakes and preserves, to freshly made sandwiches, which are delicious. Was so taken with this establishment, I had to buy one of their jute bags as a keepsake, which I found to be so fairly priced. Thanks Huffkins for not taking advantage of your clientele.

Thank Essexrosie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Huffkins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear Essexrosie99,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am glad to here that you have enjoyed visiting Huffkins at Stow on the Wold, and that were satisfied with both the food and the service.
We have lots of choice on our menu so there is always a reason to pop back and try something new.
We also have a new range of jute bags which have arrived this week, they are all beautiful and vibrant colours. Just as another keepsake :)

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you,
Annabella Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Come out of the church and, in the market square, you will this little bakery and cafe. The service was excellent, waitresses welcoming and friendly and the food choices excellent. I went for a blast from the past and had Larry cake, it didn't disappoint. Just as I remembered from my childhood. There were some really tasty looking cakes on offer in the bakery which were very hard to resist. Do yourself a favour and call in here.

Thank judith063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Huffkins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear Judith063,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am happy to here you enjoyed your visit to Huffkins at Stow on the Wold, and both our customer service and food matched with that our our high standards. Our Lardy cakes are our best sellers, when you come to visit us again, take a few home with you. As they are made fresh in our bakery they freeze very well, so you could enjoy them at home when you fancy. Don't forget! Every time you visit us in the tearoom, the goods you are taking home from the shop are discounted by 10%. So it really is worth it!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you,
Annabella Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huffkins also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Burford, Cotswolds
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Witney, Oxfordshire
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to Huffkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing