We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food and service”

The Old Bakery Tearoom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: PLEASE NOTE WE WILL BE CLOSED ON MONDAY 23rd and TUESDAY 24th JULY. Jackie and Alan have owned and run the tearoom for almost THIRTEEN years, but continue to keep our service and standards high as our reviews indicate. Most of our menu is made here on the premises, including Soups, Dressings, Sauces, Jams and of course all of our cakes and scones.We make everything from basic ingredients, not pre mixes.Our coffee and tea is Fairtrade. The coffee is freshly ground and we use loose leaf tea, with the exception of herbal teas. We aim to source our produce locally as we believe in supporting local suppliers where possible.We also serve Gluten Free meals, including homemade Gluten Free scones, so a cream tea can be had by everyone! Vegetarian and other options are available. We are visited by many customers time and time again, along with strong support from locals who live in the town. Regular hours are 10am to 4.00pm (5pm Saturdays). Please note we are closed on Sundays and Thursdays.
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This was our second visit to Alan and Jackie’s haven. Once again we were not disappointed. In August we had been fortunate to find a table for two free, this time we took the precaution, as advised, to book a table.
Alan was so welcoming and chatted to us as though we had known each other for years. We ordered our lunch and it was delicious. Best scone l have ever tasted, thank you Jackie! Alan and Jackie are an amazing team, thank you for the warm welcome and delicious, freshly prepared, reasonably priced meal. We are looking forward to our next visit.

1  Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hello Celia B
We are really encouraged when guests who have been here previously, return - and some for many visits over the years. We're always happy to take bookings over the phone, by text or e mail, and a good number come in when they arrive in the town to book a table for later. Glad that you both enjoyed your lunches and especially the scones. See you next time round! Best wishes, Alan & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We 'happened upon' this delightful tea room, attracted by the sign at the entrance to the alleyway that leads there! A couple ahead of us had peered into the tea room through the door and turned away saying there was no room. We opened the door to find a table for two waiting for us!! Alan, the proprietor, made us feel very welcome and my friend commented on the leaflet on the table, a moving account of how and why the tea room was there under their management. The tea and toasted tea cake we had were excellent and seeing the other food being served, we'll definitely make this a 'must' for future visits to the Cotswolds - we'll phone ahead and reserve a table as it will always be busy at lunchtime!! 5 out of 5 for food, service and surroundings, all topped off with a special ingredient!!

Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hello Peter W
We are full so often - but can always keep the next available table for guests, and sometimes as you saw, people do not always see a spare table, so glad that you were able to come in. Pleased that you enjoyed your light snack - it's always good to see what other meals are being served, even if you are not the ones eating them! Thanks for reading our story which we share both in the tearoom itself and also all over the country. Many thanks - Alan & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Great place and very good food and healthful staff ,go for the carrot cake ,good size and delicious .just been updated well worth a visit

1  Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hello Philip E
Appreciate your comments - homemade carrot cake is probably one of our most popular cakes! We continue to update and decorate the tearoom which we feel is important, especially when you have been established for 12 years! Hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the town. Many thanks. Alan & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Myself, husband and baby stopped off here for lunch after reading such good reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed, in fact the tearoom exceeded our expectations! I had the coronation chicken jacket potato- the coronation chicken was delicious and it came with a very good helping of salad. I had a latte which was also very good. I must mention we recieved a very warm and very friendly welcome making our visit a delight. Can't wait to go back for scones next time! Ps. The caramel slices we took away with us were so yummy!

Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Hi Melanie C (and family!)
It was also a delight to be able to give you rest and sustenance in your travels round with your lovely young baby, who was great. Pleased that you managed to enjoy your meals (albeit in shifts!) so thank you for your time and comments. Caramel shortbread is just the remedy when there is a young baby around! Safe travels and look forward to a return visit. Many thanks, Alan & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Called in for random visit no check on trip adviser. Had soup and sandwich and my wife had a plowmans lunch. Great food great service must recommend a visit if you are in the location.

Thank Jb24m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Hi Jb24m
It's even better when guests come in randomly without and pre knowledge or preconception of what we do or serve. You honest comments are truly appreciated - and I think that you were well filled up when you left us! Hope that the rest of your trip to the area was as enjoyable. Many thanks, Alan & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Bakery Tearoom also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Longborough, Moreton-in-Marsh
 

Been to The Old Bakery Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing