We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly people”

St Michael’s Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Painswick
Price range: US$8 - US$14
Description: Food at St Michael’s is about simplicity and enjoyment: delicious, unpretentious classic dishes made personally, on the premises, by chef and owner Matt. With over 30 years’ culinary experience, Matt’s standards are exacting. The daily menu is always seasonal so we’re big on fresh, top-quality ingredients. We buy produce from trusted local suppliers. We bake our breads daily.
Restaurant details
Description: Food at St Michael’s is about simplicity and enjoyment: delicious, unpretentious classic dishes made personally, on the premises, by chef and owner Matt. With over 30 years’ culinary experience, Matt’s standards are exacting. The daily menu is always seasonal so we’re big on fresh, top-quality ingredients. We buy produce from trusted local suppliers. We bake our breads daily.
Reviewed 2 December 2017

We had a great meal here yesterday - our first time. Imaginative menu, well cooked. We will be back for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank notria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattblackmatt, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Notria, looking forward to having you back at St.Michaels soon. Hopefully second time experience will be as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

The food at St Michael's is always fabulous. The atmosphere is so welcoming and the staff do everything they can to make your visit enjoyable. We will be back soon.

Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattblackmatt, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Jayne, thank you ever so much for your heart warming review. We will pass your comments on to our staff. It is always lovely to see you as you are so appreciative of everything we do. Happy returning customers are the greatest reward to us. We are looking forward to having you again at St. Michaels in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We couldn't have received a warmer welcome from Magda and Matt. Our two night stay and two evenings enjoying Matts exquisite cuisine and Magda and her team's outstanding service made for a memorable weekend in The Cotswold. Such attention is made to the finest detail to make sure guests have the most comfortable stay and a VIP experience, we couldn't have asked for more. We highly recommend and will definitely return.

Thank DAH28_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattblackmatt, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear DAH28,
you were customers sent to us from Heaven. We would love looking after you at St. Michaels very soon again! Please do not forgot to mention your returning customers discount.=)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

This was our third visit to St Michaels and each time we have loved the food and atmosphere. Magda is such a caring and professional host who clearly loves food. Her husband Matt is a fantastic chef. The menu is carefully thought out and includes many local foods which are beautifully presented. We look forward to returning again and again! Thank you so much!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattblackmatt, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Jenny,
it is always pleasure to have you at St. Michael's as you are such a gem of a guest, really appreciative of everything we are doing. Please bring your little grandson with you ( congratulations for becoming a granny), as we like having children here and our own two little "rascals" would love to see you again very much.
With all our love
Matt and Magda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Ate here on a Saturday night when everywhere else was booked. They fitted us in and we were so pleased. The food was excellent and the hosts so lovely and it was very reasonably price. It is also a hotel so will look to stay there next visit. Excellent customer service and great food.

Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattblackmatt, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Patricia, we are really happy we could accommodate you as you sent us such a great review. Thank you very much and we hope you can stay with us and experience our rooms as well in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Michael’s Restaurant also viewed

Painswick, Stroud District
 
Painswick, Stroud District
 
Painswick, Stroud District
Painswick, Stroud District
 

Been to St Michael’s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing