We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another gastronome's gem in Painswick”

St Michael’s Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Painswick
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Description: Food at St Michael’s is about simplicity and enjoyment: delicious, unpretentious classic dishes made personally, on the premises, by chef and owner Matt. With over 30 years’ culinary experience, Matt’s standards are exacting. The daily menu is always seasonal so we’re big on fresh, top-quality ingredients. We buy produce from trusted local suppliers. We bake our breads daily.
Restaurant details
Description: Food at St Michael’s is about simplicity and enjoyment: delicious, unpretentious classic dishes made personally, on the premises, by chef and owner Matt. With over 30 years’ culinary experience, Matt’s standards are exacting. The daily menu is always seasonal so we’re big on fresh, top-quality ingredients. We buy produce from trusted local suppliers. We bake our breads daily.
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We are incredibly lucky to live in Painswick. Within 500 yards there are three excellent restaurants , two gastro pubs of a good standard and other delis and coffee bars also offering light food during the day. The latest to open is St Michael's whose owner /chef Matt and his wife have spent a few years repairing the house for elegant B&B's and re-fitting the kitchen- while we all waited to see what it would be like . Well worth the wait. Delicious , real individual chef- prepared dishes with interesting flavours and textures ( often neglected ) using very fresh, local produce and a with a great knack for creating a subtle menu with four choices for each course, which left you very much wanting the next contrasting delight . Matt is a real chef's chef. But book . The small, cosy dining room only takes 30 odd guests -but a real treat and very reasonable for first quality food and some good, inexpensive wines. 3 courses £24 .Amazing

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ScotsRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattblackmatt, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

thank you very much for your fantastic review. we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Almost medieval feel to the interior, dark beams and unusual decorative objects. Of course having a view of the churchyard and ancient yew trees added to the atmosphere.
Very warm welcome from friendly waitresses.
It was a delight to see some different lunch options from the usual suspects.
I had a dish called something like huklish (I remembered it sounded like husky! )
Czechoslovakian in origin it was really tasty. The bacon topping was a very good quality product.
I ordered the 3 salad side dish which was also unusual.
Hubby ate anchovy salad with 2 different home made breads (he over ordered with new potatoes as didn't realise bread included) .
All the food was cooked from scratch while we sat drinking locally made raspberry "lemonade" .
For the price you get good quality, slightly unusual food in a lovely setting. Very good value for money.

Thank redheadmalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattblackmatt, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you very much for your most interesting review. We are glad that you liked the food, atmosphere, service and design of St. Michaels. Your dish is a traditional Slovak meal called HALUSKI. Little potato gnocchi with creamed ewe cheese. Delicious! It is still on the menu, please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Wow - what a find! This small and beautiful bistro in the heart of Painswick just opposite the famous church was our destination for lunch today and it was one of the best meals we had in a long time with food that wouldn't seem far out of place in a Michelin starred restaurant. The menu was unusual, small but varied and each dish beautifully presented and bursting with flavours. The motto "eat simply - eat well" is clearly taken to heart and I suspect it won't take long until the secret of St Michael's is out and bookings are mandatory...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank t_kus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattblackmatt, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Dr Kus,
thank you very much for your very kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves while at St. Michaels. If you ever are in need of our services please do not hesitate to contact us.
We hope to see you soon again.
With kindest regards
Matt and Magda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

We were a party of 5 for lunch, arriving late for our booking due to long delays on motorway. We were very warmly welcomed and discovered that the kitchen had been kept open especially for us. This was some of the best food we have eaten, fresh, locally sourced, selected from a really interesting menu and superbly presented. Cannot recommend this establishment highly enough. Don't go to Painswick without a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LibertyLubbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattblackmatt, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Mrs Lubbock,
We loved your review, thank you very much. As Painswick being known as the "Queen of the Cotswold" we found your heading for St. Michaels as "The King of the Cotswold" great.
We are always here for our customers and we will try to do our best to accommodate all request and wishes of yours.
Hope to see you soon again!
With best wishes
Matt and Magda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Guido W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattblackmatt, Owner at St Michael’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Michael’s Restaurant also viewed

 
Painswick, Cotswolds
 

Been to St Michael’s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing