We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing birthday meal”
Review of The Spice Lodge

The Spice Lodge
Ranked #17 of 495 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$33
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Located in the former old mansion house on Montpellier Drive, Spice Lodge- Cheltenham's premier Pan Asian restaurant - provides you with a new and exciting taste of Asia. The restaurant is divided into separate areas and dining rooms, each having its own unique style and atmosphere, giving you and your guests as much privacy as you like. We are also able to provide the following services: conferences, wedding receptions, banquets, private parties.
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

I came here with my family as a belated birthday meal, everything was perfect and the food was amazing. What really makes this place stand out is the excellent customer service, our waiter really was amazing and I will definitely be coming back soon!

Thank zvdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicelodge11, General Manager at The Spice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear zvdt,

Thank you for your comments. We are most pleased that you and your family enjoyed the birthday celebrations dining experience with us and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 241 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017

We came here a few weeks ago. We are not local to the area but were advised that this place served a good Indian - They were right.

Me and my partner love curries, I make a lot from scratch, so we are always a little apprehensive about trying Indian places. Lots serve poor ingredients and add lots of 'Red' colouring.

The spice lodge food was fantastic. We went in on a Sunday evening and were the only people there to eat. We were instantly worried all cookers may be closed down (quite late) and food less per our liking - we could not have been more wrong.
All food was as fresh as you could imagine. We were given extra Chilli dishes and we were both treated like royalty!

Raj was exceptional as a waiter and could not do enough for us, despite us being the only ones there and quite late..

I would recommend this restaurant and if we are ever Cheltenham way we will certainly be coming back!

    • Service
    • Food
Thank lllllchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicelodge11, General Manager at The Spice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear lllllchester,

Thank you for your comments. We are most pleased that you and your partner enjoyed your Sunday dining experience with us and we look most forward to seeing you both again when visiting Cheltenham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Very accommodating staff and nice food. The service was good and the pricing was reasonable. Would go back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank isabellen143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicelodge11, General Manager at The Spice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Isabell,

Thank you for your comments. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your pan Asian dining experience with us and we look most forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

First the venue is very nice food wasn’t great far to bland for a Indian and every dish including starters were Luke warm the Thai soup was dreadful as the fish curry strange taste soup probably from a packet also popadoms come all Brocken up so you don’t know how many you got or how many pieces you should have then the bill mistakes happen but far to many on this one charge for 3 soups not one 8 popadoms not 3 also charged for lamb dish when chicken when changed still overcharged on chicken dish couldn’t be bothered then another waiter or owner came over and took £9 off to late damage he’d been done gave a £10 off voucher for next visit left that with them

Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicelodge11, General Manager at The Spice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for your feedback which has been passed on to those concerned.

We are most concerned and disappointed to read about your experience. We do dispute your comments about the cuisine, the reason is nothing was said to the management or any of the staff at the time.

The error with the bill we can only apologise for as that was our mistake and your bill got mixed up which we tried to rectify immediately upon realising.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Friendly and efficient service. Welcoming and helpful in describing gluten free options and ingredients. Allergens clearly marked on the menu which makes it easy to choose. Indian selection more comprehensive than Asian part of the menu. Easily one of the best curries I've ever had. Lots of free chocolates given to me at the end for the kids!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kerrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spice Lodge also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Spice Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing