We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay at this hotel”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel in May 2012
We found the hotel staff extremely friendly and welcoming and the food, both at breakfast and dinner was delicious.
Special thanks to Vicky for making us feel at home.
We found our accommodation most comfortable - and we much appreciated the fact that our little dog was allowed to stay with us.

We found the hotel well run and one thing in particular we liked was it was spacious but not as big as one of those chain hotels, just the right size to keep that "personal" touch.

We read a number of the reviews and found some of the comments unreasonable - no pleasing some folks. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Thanks again.

Ann & Martin

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ201004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thanks for your comments – being a full service (having a restaurant & bar) small hotel in Cheltenham is our distinct proposition – we offer a much more attentive and personal service than the large chain hotels and we offer more amenities than guest houses. We’re happy you had a pleasant stay at Cotswold Grange and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    144
    74
    25
    12
See reviews for
66
251
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Having spent the previous night in a Premier Inn on the outskirts of Bristol, the cotswold grange came as a breath of fresh air for my one night stay in Cheltenham. From check in to check out, my experience was first class. Good wi-fi connection throughout meant i could get loads of work done in the afternoon and then enjoyed a steaming hot shower followed by a bar meal of curry (delicious) and a couple of ciders. Staff were all really friendly and attentive without being OTT and i even had the remote for the tv - Europa league final, i thank you! My room was spotlessly clean, (big double on the first floor) with everything i could need. The fantastic breakfast set me up for the day, and an easy walk in to town, leaving the car safe (and free) in the car park. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTBGames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thanks for your comments – we’re happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay particularly appreciating the ‘home from home’ atmosphere and convenience we offer at Cotswold Grange – we look forward to welcoming you again in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed at the Cotswold Grange on Saturday. The room, was very small (ie not much room for more than the bed!), but nicely decorated. We asked for a double room, but I suspect it was more like a short twin/queen (I'm 5'11") and it was down in the basement annex with barely a window. The bathroom was a major let down and lacks any kind of character and is rather utilitarian with ugly brown tiles and a shower room - with office lighting; basically it's not in keeping with the nice room and needs an upgrade. We were awoken by a tour van and some loud guests literally outside the window at 7:45am. The breakfast was nice, but nothing exceptional. It feels like the management are trying to cram in as many rooms as possible in an ostensibly small Georgian/Regency building and there's a bit of mish-mash in style between a bog-standard hotel and a boutique feel. For the price and the location (outside the centre), I think there could be better places.

Room Tip: Try to get a place on the first floor and not in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
We are moving ahead with the refurbishment program at Cotswold Grange – glad you liked the new decor in the bedroom. The bathroom is still in the older style - however it is very functional and there is a good shower. We are working through the constraints of refurbishment of a hotel property – we can’t close up and complete everything at the same time unfortunately. Our tariffs reflect where we are at the moment and in offering clean comfortable ensuite rooms in a great location with a restaurant; bar; on-site car parking; free broadband Wi-Fi internet access; and garden – we believe that we present good value for money in Cheltenham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

What a lovely looking building from the outside, but sadly our rooms were in the basement annex and where tiny - only just enough room to get round the bed (double) The bathroom was a wet room - so no bath. the windows were level with the pavement and at one point I was slightly put out to find 5 Japanese tourists peering in as I entered the room after breakfast! it was clean but at £95 for B&B I felt it was very expensive. Breakfast was OK but not self service and the full English was average - one of each item. Toast was bog standard thick sliced - so not much in the way of originality or going that extra step. Would I stay there again? No.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel and make sure that you check that the advertised extras are in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katemanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Cotswold Grange is indeed a handsome period property with a distinctive honey-coloured limestone façade. Although the rooms in the side annex are compact they have been designed for all conveniences having flat screen TVs; a writing desk; hospitality tray; stool; bedside tables and lamps – and in most cases are comfortable for short stays.

Our breakfast consists of a self-service buffet (cereals; fruits; juices) which is followed (if desired) by a full cooked-to-order breakfast where the guest specifies exactly what they wish – and if you had wanted more than one of a certain item our chef would have happily prepared this for you. We now actually get our bread from a good quality Cotswold bakery as part of our program to provide something different and better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Just stayed for 1 night. Hotel was good standard I would put it 3 - 4 star. Staff were very pleasant, helpful and attentive without being too pushy. In fact on occasions it was as if they were relatively new to running an hotel - just an impression.
Good location to walk into Cheltenham centre but competing with a number of quality hotels in better locations. Certainly an advantage to have plenty of off road parking and being in a quiet residential area. Had a bar meal on Sunday evening as the normalo restaurant was not available but it was well cooked and presented and saved a trip back into the Centre. Usual standard of cooked breakfast that you would expect these days. Worth a visit but then so are a number of others in Cheltenham that we have visited previously.My overall rating would be Good - i.e between Average and Very Good.

Room Tip: we had room 11 - right up on the second floor but with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Glad you appreciated our service quality – being an independent family-run establishment we are particularly focused on being welcoming, attentive and helpful to our guests. We are in a great location – convenient for the Town Centre yet in a pleasant tranquil residential area – and set well back from the road. Having ample car parking within the Hotel grounds does set us apart from many of the other hotels in Cheltenham. And yes we do have some great views from the bedrooms on the upper floor – thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future to Cotswold Grange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
3.0 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,231 reviews
0.7 km away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
504 reviews
1.4 km away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.6 km away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
197 reviews
3.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Grange Hotel

Property: Cotswold Grange Hotel
Address: Pittville Circus Road, Cheltenham GL52 2QH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotswold Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned between Cheltenham town centre and its famous Racecourse, this distinctive Cotswold stone building offers free parking; free Wi-Fi; and an excellent restaurant. Situated in a quiet tree-lined avenue only a short walk from Cheltenham’s many attractions, the hotel exudes a character and charm that few establishments can match. Cotswold Grange has the generous comfort of a large period house with many enchanting features including high ceilings; beautiful decorative cornicing; the original cantilevered staircase; and a secluded garden with an ornamental fish pond. The unique attractions combine to make Cotswold Grange an ideal base for exploring Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Cotswold Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Grange Cheltenham
Cotswold Grange Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing