We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value For Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Value For Money”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed at the Cotswold Grange Hotel for three nights, we were offered a choice of rooms as the hotel was fairly quiet, a lower floor room with no view but was nicely decorated and looked recently re- furbished. We went for a room on the second floor up two flights of stairs, but with a lovely view of the close by hills. Pre paid the booking and got a better rate.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were cooked well and ample, with a variety of cereals and fresh fruit.Tea and nice Coffee. Lovely Cotswolds sausages !
The hotel was pleasantly quiet in a nice location, with plenty of parking.We both slept really well in a comfy bed. Small clean bath with shower over.
The centre of Cheltenham was about 10-15 minute walk, nice bars and restaurants close by.
Good base for exploring the nearby Cotswolds.
The manager Nirav was always attentive and friendly.
We would stay here if we were to visit Cheltenham again.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so be aware of the stairs if you have any problems getting up and down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thanks for your comments – we’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the not-too-distant future as there is so much to see and do in Cheltenham and the Cotswolds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    152
    76
    25
    13
See reviews for
72
272
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The hotel is a lovely Victorian building and located in a quiet street with good off-street parking. The hotel is being renovated and judging by other reviews here, work has been underway a while now. Our room wasn’t huge and the bathroom had an air of being partially done. The room at the front had a bay window which gave plenty of light to the room.

The bar was again a bit of a work in progress and had a few drinks, but in the end we elected to go to a local pub instead, simply fancying a look around the locale. The evening meal was well prepared, came with good wine and the highlight of the stay.

Overall we enjoyed the stay and thought the hotel worth another look as the work progresses and consider it a reasonable effort, as they are constrained by the age of the building and the inherent restrictions that gives. I also appreciate that independents cannot match the financial muscle of chains when it comes to refurbs, but this does need to be completed, so the place can realise its potential.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BsidetheC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
The building is a very distinctive property dating from around the 1840s and has wonderful period features. We are working through a sympathetic refurbishment program and we’re happy to inform that we have done the work on the bar now and it has been completely transformed in to a comfortable inviting space in which our guests can truly relax.

We have a very capable chef who consistently produces good food – glad you enjoyed your meal with us – our aim is to use the best local and seasonal produce as far as possible cooked with flair to create simple hearty meals.

We want to ensure the refurbishment is done in the best quality way and this is why it takes time to deliver – we look forward to welcoming you back in the future and we’re confident you’ll enjoy your stay even more as we progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed at cotswold grange hotel last week for two nights what a lovely hotel the staff were welcoming helpful a wonderful room we had a problem with an offer but my i say the owners were very quick to resolve. my i thank you and your staff once again. ian.& theresa portsmouth

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mainman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
We’re happy you enjoyed your stay at Cotswold Grange and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

After a very busy start to the year we decided to take an overnight break in Cheltenham. Near the scenic Cotswolds and within walking distance of the buzzing town we thought we'd planned well. Upon arrival it was instantly apparent that the hotel echos of former glory.

Beautifully proportioned down stairs rooms though were dressed with dated furniture and decor and work was under way to a bar area which of course was out of service.
We were given the key to room 4, front of house,only so thought we were in for a treat as we'd seen the website photos. What a disappointment...1950s style furniture and pretty awful bedding/decor. We asked for a change of room which wasn't overly welcomed.

Given the key to 29 we went into another wing which was freezing. The room was better, clearly one of the few refurbished ones but it was so tiny you could just walk around the bed. Being in the basement meant it was dark and dreary. The bathroom was awful, beige melamine walls and beige and brown tiling, like something from the 70s.
When I asked if that was the best choice I was told my expectations were too high. Frankly I think theirs are too low.

The rate was £115, we paid £75 through late rooms but that was still way too high for this level of accommodation. We do weekend breaks often so had lots to compare this to. The proprietors were unprofessional and very defensive which didn't help. We didn't stay and felt we'd rather lose the money than feel cramped in a tiny, dark room with a grotty bathroom.
Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere until this hotel has managed to a) work on professionalising its staff and b) get completely up to date with its refurbishments.

Room Tip: Wait until all rooms and bathrooms have been refurbished so you aren't disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Sorry you were disappointed with your experience.

We acquired the property relatively recently and have made progress on refurbishment with several bedrooms now complete. The Bar has now been refurbished and offers a very pleasant environment in which to relax with a drink – unfortunately the works did take longer than envisaged and we’re sorry it wasn’t available at the time of your visit as we had originally thought it would be.

We were happy to let you see another available room after you said that the first room allocated to you wasn’t to your taste. When we subsequently discussed your expectations it was clear that we didn’t have a room available that would satisfy all your wants. Our feeling at the time was that your expectations more clearly aligned to a boutique hotel and that the rates you should expect to pay in Cheltenham would be double our charges. Sorry we were not able to reach a satisfactory compromise with you.

You arrived on a particularly cold day well before our normal check-in time of 2:30pm and unfortunately the heating was just starting up at the time so hadn’t fully warmed the hotel.

What we presently provide is clean comfortable accommodation in a great location (half a mile from the High Street yet in a tranquil tree-lined avenue) with a restaurant, bar, free on-site car parking, and free broadband Wi-Fi internet access – and taking all this in to account we believe that we offer good value for money in Cheltenham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We were a group of 6 couples coming to Cheltenham for our annual 'get-together' at the races. We chose Cotswold Grange because a) it offers a Saturday night only on race weekend (more and more hotels now only do a Fri/Sat package), b) it is walkable to the racecourse as well as into town, and c) it has its own free parking.
The hotel is a lovely Georgian house but as others have said, is currently being updated. As such, our bedroom was nicely done but the bathroom remained a dingy homage to the 1970s! Clean, though, and with a good powerful shower, albeit a 'wetroom' affair, which managed to completely soak the whole bathroom. The room was a little cold at night, would benefit from customer-controlled thermostats.
The corridors, stairs etc are still waiting for a facelift, so a little jaded. The bar was closed for refurbishment, so the hotel served drinks in the dining room. This was OK but meant we drank a glass of pre-dinner wine whilst standing up - wine was also v expensive (ask beforehand!). Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice.
The staff were friendly and fairly attentive - this hotel has potential once it's been renovated, so long as they don't join the Cheltenham trend for hiking up to extortionate prices.
At £110 per room, incl breakfast and parking, we were overall very pleased and would stay here again on a similar trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. Our group was on the basement level, which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pic0pic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Great to read that you were very pleased overall with your stay at Cotswold Grange. We’re happy that you like the changes we are making with the refurbishment and that you enjoyed our cooked-to-order full breakfast. We’re glad you found staff friendly and attentive – we always strive to build a good rapport with our guests.

There are indeed thermostats in the room to control temperature – in some of the rooms which have radiator covers the thermostats are accessed via a small hatch.

Sorry the Bar wasn’t available at the time of your stay – the work has now been completed and a relaxing environment has been created with comfortable seating and nice lighting – perfect for a drink or two.

We do have a good selection of wines available – from the House Red / White starting at £18 per bottle or £4.50 per glass; with the majority of wines priced below £30.

We look forward to welcoming your group again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
3.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
179 reviews
0.7 km away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
533 reviews
3.0 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
1.4 km away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.6 km away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Grange Hotel

Property: Cotswold Grange Hotel
Address: Pittville Circus Road, Cheltenham GL52 2QH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotswold Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned between Cheltenham town centre and its famous Racecourse, this distinctive Cotswold stone building offers free parking; free Wi-Fi; and an excellent restaurant. Situated in a quiet tree-lined avenue only a short walk from Cheltenham’s many attractions, the hotel exudes a character and charm that few establishments can match. Cotswold Grange has the generous comfort of a large period house with many enchanting features including high ceilings; beautiful decorative cornicing; the original cantilevered staircase; and a secluded garden with an ornamental fish pond. The unique attractions combine to make Cotswold Grange an ideal base for exploring Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Cotswold Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Grange Cheltenham
Cotswold Grange Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing