We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese place in Cheltenham”

KIBOUsushi, Cheltenham
Ranked #4 of 490 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$33
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Established back in 2013, KIBOUsushi is Cheltenham's original Japanese Hot Kitchen, Sushi & Ramen Bar. Serving delicious, homemade RAMEN, the freshest SUSHI & SASHIMI, TEMPURA, GYOZA, KATSU CURRY, TERIYAKI, OKONOMIYAKI, JYU, YAKISOBA, TAKOYAKI, JAPANESE WHISKY, TEAS & A VEGETARIAN/GLUTEN FREE MENU. Booking is highly recommended as we are very small; we look forward to welcoming you at KIBOUsushi, Cheltenham!
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Came here while visiting the area on advice of TripAdvisor - did not regret it.

Food was excellent, we loved the volcano roll and actually all the sushi was very high quality. The ramen broth wasn't as exciting - definitely would order more sushi instead next time!

Service was impeccable and very friendly, a real cosy place. Highly recommended.

2  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOUsushi, Owner at KIBOUsushi, Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for your very complimentary review, especially about the sushi - please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Wow! We ate here early on Saturday night before going to a concert at The Playhouse and were more than impressed. All of the staff were friendly and knowledgeable, the atmosphere was great and despite making a late booking and being 'warned' that we would be sat near the door, everything was extremely comfortable,

I've dined at my fair share of Japanese restaurants around the world and these guys nailed it. Miso soup, nigiri, rainbow roll (well recommended by our waitress), soft shell crab, gyoza, complimentary sake - all of it was fresh, flavourful and a delight to eat. There are also some good Japanese beers and a decent wine list to compliment it all.

Well done Kibou, it was a delightful experience and we will definitely be back soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOUsushi, Owner at KIBOUsushi, Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write this review; everything we hope to achieve is highlighted and we are really glad that you enjoyed your visit.
Kindest regards, Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Went to KIBOUsushi for The umpteenth time recently and again came away thinking couldn’t have had a better experience. We had a mixture of dishes helped by the waitress who suggested some lovely sides. Give it a go.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOUsushi, Guest Relations Manager at KIBOUsushi, Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review Ian. We are glad that you had another enjoyable experience and hope to see you back here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

The only place to go for Japanese food in Cheltenham GREAT

Knocks spots of Koj's high price tasteless food hype. Friendly staff, great tastes, reasonable price and lovely venue

Book and go

2  Thank WorlddTravellerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOUsushi, Guest Relations Manager at KIBOUsushi, Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you had an enjoyable experience and hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We went for lunch, and on our arrival the place was virtually full with a very friendly cosy atmosphere.
The services was great, the staff very help full and knowledgeable. the menu has something for every one from sweet to spicy, from meat to vegan.
Only issue for some maybe the steep narrow stairs down to the restaurant

1  Thank glos755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOUsushi, Guest Relations Manager at KIBOUsushi, Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Kibou. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KIBOUsushi, Cheltenham also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to KIBOUsushi, Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing