We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An ideal vacation rental, a historical property...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Dovecote

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Dovecote The Dovecote
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
The Dovecote
The Dovecote
View of house
Kitchen area
Dining area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Main kingsize bedroom
Main kingsize bedroom
Second bedroom with double and single bed
Second bedroom with double and single bed
Bathroom with bath and overhead shower
View over duck pond
Seating area overlooking duck pond
View of house
View from seating area
Outside the house
The Dovecote
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheltenham, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KLE2013
Centreville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
1,381 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,317 helpful votes
“An ideal vacation rental, a historical property with the all modern conveniences”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Dovecote is a beautifully restored historic property adjacent to a family farm. The first floor is a bright open space with a sitting area, dining space and completely outfitted kitchen. The second floor has two spacious bedrooms with comfortable beds and attractive furnishing that incorporates the unique architectural cubbies that once served as nesting places for the doves. When a teenage boy offers his opinion " this is just the coolest, most unusual room I've ever seen" you know that the space is special. A modern bathroom with every amenity completes the top floor. Our hostess was gracious and welcoming, providing a wealth of information, maps and guides to the surrounding area and gifting us with a delicious homemade bread for our breakfast. The views from the cottage over the nearby pond provided amazing opportunities for bird watching and the ideal place for relaxation. We would return to the Dovecote without hesitation, but for those with mobility issues be advised that the steps to the second floor are numerous and steep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The unique character of the accommodation
Liked least: The steep stairs
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Thanks for your review - so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mj2849
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Favorite rental of our holiday.”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the Dovecote. Helen was the perfect hostess providing all of the cottage information in a well organized binder. The kitchen was very well stocked with everything we needed.
Watching the wildlife in the pond each morning was a treat. The setting was very relaxing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting was very peaceful.
Liked least: The clothes dryer was not functioning
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Glad you had a lovely time!! Thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sir John...
2 reviews
“Excellent - a quite unique place to stay and to relax.”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We missed out on the superb welcoming cake, which so many guests comment on, because the owners were on holiday themselves. We had had a long journey from France and would really have appreciated finding a bottle of milk in the fridge so that we could have made a cup of tea. As it was, the first thing we had to do was go out again to find a supermarket. This apart. it was a brilliant place to stay and we will certainly hope to visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location overlooking a duck pond.
Liked least: Lack of a welcoming basket.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay. sorry about the milk - we do detail what is included at the house. Sorry you had to go out again on arrival!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie W
1 review
“wonderful”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

wonderful little spot, everything you need. no more no less (could of done with a caffetierre)
The setting is perfect for warmer evenings, al fresco. Helen was super helpful and a pleasure to deal with. 10am kick out on a Sunday is a bit harsh. Adorable feature property upstairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: setting
Liked least: check out time
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Hi - glad you enjoyed your stay. There is a cafetiere in the cupboard so sorry you didn't find it! Re check out time, I always try and be flexible on these but when we have back to back bookings, I need to allow time to clean and prepare the house for the next guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X2166HMma...
Ashtead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect stay.”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a lovely short stay in this great cottage. Pretty, well equipped
and great location. Will return!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$175
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing