We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay for a lovely relaxing break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Dovecote

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Dovecote The Dovecote
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The Dovecote
The Dovecote
View of house
Kitchen area
Dining area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Main kingsize bedroom
Main kingsize bedroom
Second bedroom with double and single bed
Second bedroom with double and single bed
Bathroom with bath and overhead shower
View over duck pond
Seating area overlooking duck pond
View of house
View from seating area
Outside the house
The Dovecote
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheltenham, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
charlotte...
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage is lovely, a really great place in a good location.

The owner is really helpful, giving tips for where to hire bikes etc and even baking us a homemade cake.

Overall a fantastic place and I would stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irishWnk
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Great location, and it has all the amenities you could want. Helen was a perfect host - she stopped by after we unpacked to make sure we had everything we needed. The cake she left was a nice touch, and was devoured. I absolutely loved the way this cottage was restored with the exposed beams & original pigeon holes in the bedrooms. The only possible negative (very minor one), is that the WiFi signal was very weak and I had to stand outside to get a connection. This was important to keep in touch with folks back home and to look up info about local area. Helen did tell me though that she was in the process of amplifying the signal so I would expect that to be remedied for the next patron. All in all, a 5-star stay - I highly recommend this cottage; you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: uniqueness of the property
Liked least: weak WiFi
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AusTrudiL
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and lovely area”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 for a stay in July 2013

We loved this cottage! It was perfectly placed to visit friends in Tewks and Chelt areas. Short drive into town with everything you need. A beautiful place that really suited us. Can easily put kids to bed upstairs and then stay up to have 'adult' time without fear of TV or chat waking them up. Would definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mix of character charm and modern conveniences in a great location
Liked least: Leaving as it was the end of our holiday!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickthepo...
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful piece of history in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This holiday house, two stories, with a huge open plan downstairs and two bedrooms and bathroom upstairs was a fascinating and ideal place to stay. We had guests for a couple of days and the wood fire and huge comfy chairs were ideal for relaxing and talking. Very well appointed throughout. We did not need for a thing. Books and videos supplied. Comfortable beds. Big fluffy doonas. Parking outside the door. This is an ideal location for heading off around the Cotswolds and south Wales. Very quiet. Very clean. We were made very welcome and thoroughly recommend anyone to stay. Any problems? Stairs are a bit narrow so getting cases upstairs was a bit problematic. WiFi was a bit temperamental - stand by the back door!
The secret is out about the cake so look forward to a delicious welcome!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The building
Liked least: Internet access was limited
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing