We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming cottage in typical English village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
175 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 175 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lavender Cottage & look forward to seeing you again. As you're from New Zealand, but currently living in London, we're glad that you were able to step back in time and discover the beautiful Cotswolds.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mick_sher...
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic, looking forward to booking our next stay”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Fantastic break, cottage was spotless, nicely furnished with lots of little extra touches, ie throws on the sofa's if you wanted to wrap up while watching t.v. dvd's books & games provided. A few essential foods in the cupboards ie: butter, milk, orange, juice fresh coffee, tea, jar coffee, cereals, jam, biscuits, cereals bars, bottle of wine. Conveniently situated, 5 minute walk to restaurant's,pubs tea shops, & shops, good base for travelling to nearby towns. Looking forward to booking our next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Lavender Cottage. I'm glad you enjoyed your time in the area and look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hettiewar...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cozy cottage in an idyllic Cotswold location”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Lavender Cottage - really comfortable with everything you need, done up to a high standard. It couldn't be closer to the main street of Bourton-on-the-Water while still being very quiet and private. There are so many walks and pubs to enjoy both within Bourton and the surrounding areas. Would stay at the cottage again and again, highly recommend it. Owners are also very lovely, friendly people! :-) Thank you for a fantastic stay!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post these lovely comments about your your stay at the cottage. We're glad that you enjoyed your weekend & look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francisco...
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thanks for your lovely review. I know from our emails (in English) how much you and your family enjoyed your stay at Lavender Cottage and found it the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christian...
Betton, France
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked least: pas de parking contrairement à ce que prétend le propriétaire, surtout en période estivale
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2015
We have been running Lavender Cottage as a holiday cottage for 14 months & have over 70 5* reviews. This is the first bad review we've received. My French is very rusty and I'm unable to access Google Translation at the moment. However, I understand much of what you've written in this review, and we exchanged a couple of emails, in English, after you left the cottage. You did not contact me until after you'd returned home, so you gave me no opportunity to address your concerns while you were at Lavender Cottage. It is clear from our listings on Trip Advisor and Holiday Lettings, and from the email that I sent you prior to arrival, that we do not have private parking. I made it very clear, both before your arrival and in the note I left in the cottage, that you could contact us at any time if you needed any help or if you had any problems. We would have come to the cottage to suggest parking spaces, or ask neighbours to move their cars to create a space. If you were unhappy with on-road parking, we would have suggested that you park in our driveway or garage and we could have collected you & taken you back to the cottage each day. However, after you'd left, our neighbour told us that were no problems with parking on that day and that you had actually parked in 3 different parking spaces around the green during your brief stay. Also, your booking via Holiday Lettings/Trip Advisor clearly states that you have 24 hours after arrival to notify them of any problems. You did not do this. No other guests have found parking a problem, but you have since told me that you'd been nervous about parking your new car on the narrow streets. Bourton-on-the-Water is a very old village and these houses & roads were built before people had cars. Whilst the roads are narrow, there is plenty of room to park cars. The cottage is in a quiet cul-de-sac, so there is very little traffic here. We've been parking our large Jeep here for over 2 years & have never had a problem. I'm also a little confused by your comment in our guest book at the cottage. Rather than mention the parking or write nothing, one of you has written that you left early due to your father's health. As regards our garden, there is a gate from the road which provides access to the doors to 3 cottages. Our garden is private, but our next-door neighbours have access along the front path to their private garden at the rear. The other cottage, on the front by the gate, is a holiday rental and the guests there need to walk past Lavender Cottage to get to the washing machine in their utility room. If anyone was standing outside the cottage you could have asked them to move away. I am pleased that we have provided a pleasant holiday experience for all our other guests, so I am upset that you did not enjoy your stay here. Without communication from you before you left, it was not possible to resolve your issues.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing