We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Friendly and Stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2017

This hotel is why I use Trip Advisor. The Chester House Hotel does well on Trip Advisor, and it turns out this is for a very good reason - it is a lovely place to stay!

It all starts with the friendly greeting you get as you check in. Everything is explained to you and you are walked to your room, bags carried for you if necessary. The next thing you notice is how stylish all the public areas are. Contemporary and cool, just the kind of place you know you're going to enjoy spending time in.

The rooms are bijou, but modern, clean and complete with everything you'll need.

The bar is comfortable and the staff friendly and happy to chat if not serving other guests. The restaurant is compact, but the food was first rate. I had a steak and it was cooked to perfection and tasty with it.

All in all I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure - and I hope I'll find an excuse to come back!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Accommodation was lovely but we chose to pay for a bigger room than normal. Staff were very friendly and accommodating with a great choice for breakfast. If you have an evening meal ther a pizza is a must, you won't regret it.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 69Dusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Where can I start, this was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Myself and my sister, mother and father decided to spend two nights away in the Cotswolds.

Mum had asked for two double bedrooms in the main hotel but although upon arrival we were on the outside quarter this was no problem at all! If anything it was much nicer. The rooms were fully equipped with a dresser table, sofa, TV, kettle with tea and coffee facilities and a great LED mirror in the bathroom. We were welcomed with a personalised note along with some yummy biscuits. The only issues I would say is the pillows are quite small so if you are one of those people that must have a good pillow then maybe bring your own. The lighting could also do with a different bulb as it was still quite dark in the day with them on.

Breakfast was delicious each morning you can have the buffet breakfast with cereals and pastries and then choose what kind of hot breakfast you would like. I must say this is the best breakfast I have ever had so kudos to the chef!

The staff were so friendly and lovely especially Slav who always greeted us wonderfully.

The bar in the hotel is very relaxed where we had a couple drinks before we went to dinner then went back again after. Everything in this hotel is very much relaxing and stress free which was great!

We are in both the Croft and the Italian restaurant in the hotel. You must book in advance and they only have one beer by the draft with the rest bottled and limited ciders to offer. The food in both these restaurants were delicious so please do go there!

Location wise was the best, I would advise possibly one night at Bourton on the water and another in Stow on the Wold- this is about a ten minute drive away with plenty of shops, tea rooms and restaurants/pubs. Please do visit the motor museum , the small village, the Victorian Christmas shop, and the tea rooms as well as the pubs!

Overall I would most certainly stay again :)

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank jodie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We stayed here for three nights in November last year , although the weather was damp the hotel was warm and very very comfortable, the staff were excellent and the breakfasts were lovely .. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This was a perfect choice for a quick getaway in the Cotswolds!! It's right behind the main High Street, connected to their Italian restaurant.
I had a ground floor room, which was plenty spacious and modernly furnished. The bathroom was especially lovely and nice/toasty warm. Free drinks/snacks in the room as well.
But I think the real winner is the customer service. I had 2 different women and a man provide helpful information about the area, and they were able to watch my rucksack during the day as I was out and about walking. The full English breakfast was also very good and included in my stay.
Would recommend as a very comfortable, clean, and friendly place to call home if you're visiting Burton-on-the-Water or surrounding area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LAYLA1779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 km away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
556 reviews
2 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,327 reviews
4.4 km away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
301 reviews
17.6 km away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
479 reviews
0.2 km away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: €119 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing