We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Convenient and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rye Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have stayed here several times. The main attraction of Rye Lodge is that our boxer is welcome to stay with us. As always, our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff are attentive and friendly and the price, whilst a little expensive compared to London four star, is reasonable for this area. Are standards dropping a tad, though? A cobweb in the bathroom when we arrived was still there when we left two days later and it all seemed a little flat. If Rye Lodge is full (and it usually is) we stay at The Grand at Eastbourne and at the moment we find that all considered The Grand offers better value.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doggybolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    226
    86
    34
    10
See reviews for
70
499
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We were welcomed by a new staff member who was left on his own to make head and tail of our multi reservation. Most of the staff were very friendly.
We had a lovely room - quiet, clean and comfortable. Great shower.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

You can't go far wrong in booking a room at this hotel, friendly staff, family run, excellent breakfast, lovely bar and when the weather's good you can sit outside for a refreshing drink.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a better view than the ones at the back, although the rooms at the back have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SidSewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Rye Lodge Hotel is so charming and stylish,we love it and would never stay anywhere else in Rye. The deluxe rooms are very spaicous and offer all modcoms. Good size bathroom too, with flully towels,robes and slippers and complimentary toiletries of good quality! Free private parking for hotelguests, with easy access into hotel directly from parking.
Staff very helpful and always friendly,no matter what your request may be!
The hotel offers afternoon tea with cake and sandwiches in the private guestlounge, and the views from the top of the hill,where the hotel is located after all, are wonderful.
We had an enjoyable stay here and recommend it to anyone !

Room Tip: for anyone travelling with a wheelchair I can recommend the groundfloor deluxe rooms. Access is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosesgirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent uk
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

The hotel itself was fairly clean but we thought it was very over priced for what it is . The decor was very tired and in desperate need of brightening up and altough the breckfast was ok it was very overpriced for what you get. ' The Lesuire' centre was A JOKE as the two excercise machine did not work and both the pool and spa bath was freezing and when asked for assistance was promptly told that it is always at bathroom temperature ! The staff were not very helpful and very dismissive. We were so dissapointed as this is the only place to offer this in their hotel. When we come to rye again we will stay at the jeakes hotel as on expection it is a lovely characteristic hotel with ornate rooms and half the price! I would not recommend this hotel for value for money .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.4 km away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.2 km away
The George in Rye
0.3 km away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#3 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
River Haven Hotel
4.1 km away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
4.1 km away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Lodge Hotel

Property: Rye Lodge Hotel
Address: Hilders Cliff, Rye TN31 7LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Rye Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rye Lodge Hotel is an award winning 20 bedroom hotel situated within the heart of the ancient town of Rye. Rye Lodge is the only hotel in Rye with Spa facilities and free off street parking for all its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Rye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rye Hotel Rye
Rye Lodge Hotel East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing