We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine comfortable traditional pub to be found at the top of the North Laine district.”
Review of Basketmakers Arms

Basketmakers Arms
Ranked #78 of 1,256 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Although a regular drinker of Fullers Beers at home in ‘the Smoke’, I usually try to avoid their pubs whilst on a crawl of a faraway town, usually on the premise that I didn’t come all this way just to drink another pint of Pride. However I have to say I really enjoyed my visit to this friendly two-room street-corner locals pub, on the edge of Brighton's famous bohemian North Laines, with its bare floors, low ceilings and walls covered in an array of clutter in the form of old metal signs, tobacco tins and various period photos. And it was good to find it very busy on this late Friday afternoon, in complete contrast to The North Laine Brew House around the corner.
And I was enamoured further by the range of beer available as on the 8 ale pumps there were 5 Fullers / Gales beers in the form of Pride, ESB, Seafarers, HSB and Spring Sprinter plus 3 guests in the form of Adnams Mosaic Pale Ale and Elsie Mo’s and Harvest Pale from Castle Rock.
So I could duck the Pride and enjoyed a well-kept Castle Rock. A well-kept pub and I enjoyed my visit here.

Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MR07799, Administrator at Basketmakers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Glad that your visit to The Basketmakers did not disappoint - we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

This pub has a wonderful traditional vibe which is different to the rest of Brighton bars. However £6 per pint is ludicrously high, and put a bit of a downer in the whole night. It was also very busy which is fine, but the pub tried to accommodate more than it could meaning they should have some sort of bouncer to control it, especially when the table arrangement meant everyone was in the way of one another. Had a nice evening but can’t really afford to go again.

Thank Jake O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MR07799, Administrator at Basketmakers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Dear Jake, Your £6 pint was an imported beer and consequently the most expensive beer on offer at The Basketmakers Arms and the only one at that price. Out of 16 beers on offer we have 11 at £5 per pint and under, the cheapest being £4.10. So, though you can pay £6 a pint it is the exception rather than the rule. As you point out, our pub has a wonderful traditional vibe which is what makes it so appealing to our customers. The introduction of a bouncer, as you suggest, is not our style at all and we do not feel that we are the kind of establishment that warrants such a move. As for your comment on being busy, this is what makes the pub and gives it it's atmosphere and is what our regular customers enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

A group of 6 of us met for lunchtime drink and food and ended up staying over 7 hours. Atmosphere was really nice, food was tasty and well presented and both food and drink were reasonably priced. Our only complaint would be the bar staff attitude which bordered on rude at times. Despite the amount of time we spent at the pub they barely managed to speak when ordering, didn't once come across to see if everything was ok and for most of the day we were taking our own empty glasses and plates to the bar as they weren't collected.

Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

We hadn’t been to the Basketmakers for a while, but popped in for a spot of lunch on Tuesday this week, and really glad we did. Very friendly welcome, great beers and delicious food. Special shout out to Becky, such a lovely barmaid, and Calum the chef for our delicious lunch. Don’t miss this little jewel if you’re visiting Brighton, it’s tucked away and can be hard to find, normally packed, but worth the effort. Don’t forget to leave a note in one of the tins on the wall.

2  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MR07799, Administrator at Basketmakers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for your "Top" review. We are always delighted to welcome people back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

We were recommended to eat here by a local guy called Michael we met in Cote. The fish and chips did not disappoint and in fact were truly excellent. I was the only female in here for the first half hour and there is now a second female present! The place at 1.30pm was nicely busy and would definitely come back again.

1  Thank Lalalyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MR07799, Administrator at Basketmakers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

So glad that your visit lived up to the recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basketmakers Arms also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Basketmakers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing