We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$275
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Una(Brighton)
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$204
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$369
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Pelirocco(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Kemp Townhouse(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
US$338
US$295
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$427
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
47
90
101
54
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
90
101
54
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheap staybed roomcommunal areasnice bathroomsea viewwould stay againcentral locationkitchenettepier
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We booked this a couple of months ago for a trip for the bank holiday weekend and we’re very disappointed by the hotel.
The reception area was unwelcoming and having already paid £150 for one night, for which we expected a suitable level of comfort and hygiene for the price, we were then expected to cough up another £150 deposit which I was informed, will be returned in 2/3 days due to the bank holiday.
Once we finally reached the room through the dirty corridors we were greeted with a bin bag filled with rubbish outside the door which remained there for the duration of our stay.
The beds were freshly made, but that was about all the cleaner had done as the the floor was dirty, the bathroom was even worse, with the previous visitors excrement still in the toilet.
We went straight out and chose to spend minimal time in the room, returning late and checking out first thing in the morning as the room was non refundable, had it been we would have left immediately and found alternative accommodation.
Great location but unfortunately that’s where the positives end. Won’t be returning and don’t waste your money on a out-dated and scruffy hotel with minimal hygiene.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Starlightsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We used the hotel as part of a stag weekend, there was seven of us split between two rooms of four. My room consisted of a central bathroom with one room to the right which had three single beds and another room the other side of the bathroom which had the remaining bed and kitchen area.

The rooms themselves seemed clean but were badly maintained. They did their job ok they just wasn't well decorated in the first place and aesthetically wasn't great to be in for long periods. The bathrooms however were abit nicer and could tell they must have been updated since the rooms although not for a while. Our shower was the one thing that was annoying, there was no pressure coming through so it felt like I was standing under a half opened tap.

The Hotel is abit of a labyrinth in the sense that it took about 3-4 minutes up and down stairs to reach our room. Its an old building which has been converted so be warned for anyone who has a heavy roller case. To be honest the hotel had more of a hostel vibe, which considering the price was abit of a disappointment.

The location though was brilliant, a block from Regency Square for the underground car park, near the i360, a few minutes walk from the shops and facing the seafront, it was near alot of things we needed.

From my experience with the staff they were very friendly, although out of seven of us atleast three of us had room keys which initially didn't work, but thats a minor problem which was easily fixed within minutes.

Overall it almost did what we needed for the weekend, a place to sleep and somewhere to shower. We didn't spend extensive time in the rooms so it was fine. Was worth it for the great location.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

The most awful hotel ever . Mouldy rooms and blown windows . Very old and unkept . Hardly any staff . Filthy toilets the place should be closed down . I can't belief they charge the prices . I could of stayed at the grove in Hertfordshire for the money they charged .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Nicole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at West Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Good Afternoon

Firstly Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, feedback good or bad is great as it helps us improve as a Hotel and grow as a team.

I am unhappy to read that you found the Hotel disappointing and 'grim' we have invested in the Hotel over the last few years and I would be interested to hear further about this. All our rooms are subject to vigorous cleaning and inspection and though the building is alike many in Brighton being from the Victorian period it is no way 'unkept' and we take pride on providing fantastic rooms at reasonable prices in the center of Brighton.

If you could provide further information by emailing manager@westbeachhotel.co.uk I can assure you any issues can be resolved and by doing so redeem your lasting impression of our Hotel.

Kind Regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

The location of this hotel was perfect for us as I was running the Brighton marathon so we wanted something close to the finish but not too pricey. Price wise this hotel was good. The cleanliness of the hotel was good and the staff were very friendly. It was a few minor points that let the hotel down. Firstly the TV was so small you could hardly see it from the bed.

We stayed for 2 nights and the towels were not changed or the bed made although to be fair to the hotel maybe this was the way they operated and we just didn't know....

The room seemed ok at the start but things like fact the curtains didn't close let it down.

On the plus side the bathroom was nice and the shower was great (especially after I'd run the marathon!) and the bed was comfy...

Would I stay here again? Yes... They location and friendly staff made it a nice stay. I would also recommend it but only if you are ok with the cons I mentioned above....

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We stayed for two nights and had a really nice time. The hotel is located directly at the beach and we saw the sea out of our room. The bathroom was clean and the bed very comfortable. It is a very modern hotel and you feel well. Any time again, thank you for the wonderful stay.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view or half sea view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lisasahnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews