We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Love it!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Candy Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rossco_ed...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Really nice house in an excellent location - just a 15 min walk from Brighton Pier!
This is a great property for a group of friends to share and is very reasonably priced. The house is just as unique and quirky as Brighton itself!

The only thing that could make this place better would be an additional bathroom (6 gay guys sharing need a bit of time to get ready in the mornings!)

We were lucky enough for the weather to be great when we stayed and were able to use the star of this property - its fantastic private garden area. Absolutely perfect for a glass or two of wine on a warm summer's evening.

If there's a group of you and you're looking for somewhere affordable to stay in Brighton you won't do much better than the fabulously named Candy Cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky D
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect rental for families with teenagers, and delighted that our dog was also welcome!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Had a lovely short break at Candy Cottage with our teenage daughters and dog during the half term break. The girls loved the colour scheme and vintage features of the cottage and generally thought it was very "cool"! The bedrooms were very spacious, and the beds were huge and very comfortable. It was only about a 15 to 20 minutes walk to the sea front and the shops, so we were able to combine some lovely walks along the beach with our dog, as well as browsing the shops and restaurants in the town, and of course discovering the attractions on the pier. We did manage to find some free parking near the cottage, but unfortunately not in the same street. However, we didn't use the car at all during our stay, so would think twice about taking it next time. We would definitely choose Candy Cottage again, if we return to Brighton.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor of the house, especially the bedrooms and bathroom
Liked least: Would have been handy to have had a toilet seperate from the bathroom
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All you need for a great stay in Brighton”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Really well located (15 min walk to The Lanes etc) but also close to local amenities and not at all a noisy neighbourhood. Spacious bedrooms and bathroom, great heating and plenty of wardrobe space. Really thoughtfully decorated and furnished - boutique chic. Parking is on street but easy to find close by and you can offload outside the property. A couple of nights stay felt like a week away.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borosttis...
Parigi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful cottage in excellent central location”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We've just spent a few days in Candy Cottage in Brighton with our three children. The cottage is squeaky clean and has just been redecorated in a colourful vintage style; the two bedrooms are large and bright, with very comfortable beds; the downstairs area cosy and functional. The one bathroom is very, very large. The owner, Sophie, is really nice and always available for help.
I would recommend this cottage to anyone staying in Brighton, as it is located in a quiet but central area, provided with excellent pubs (the Geese just in front serves an excellent selection of bangers and mash) and at walking distance from the North Lanes for breakfast and coffee and from the central district for shopaholics. Parking in the vicinity is free and quite easy to find.
If your children are into roller sports, bring along a skateboard or scooter as at the bottom of the street there is an excellent skate park open until late.
Note: the cottage extends on two flights of stairs and that there is a small hill to climb to reach the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall decoration and comfort of beds
Liked least: Small living area
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tree123_1...
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky, cool Candy Cottage – a wonderful find for a great stay in Brigton!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Candy Cottage is such a lovely roomy three storey terrace in a great central location. With beautiful boudoirs and the most amazing big bathroom, I wish all the places we stayed were as fabulous as this one. This place oozes vintage style, we had a wonderful stay with friends and kids – just perfect. Sophie, the owner was really accomodating, organising and making it easy with little children. We would definately stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent location, super comfy big beds!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing