We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drowsy doggy day”

Pavilion Gardens Cafe
Ranked #9 of 35 Dessert in Brighton
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Established in 1941 in the gardens adjacent to the Royal Pavilion. The cafe is very popular with customers and known for its famous rock cakes baked on the premises daily. Now located between the Royal Pavilion and Theatre Royal and close to the Brighton Dome right in the heart of the Cultural Quarter. This is an Oasis in the Heart of the City.
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We've lived in Brighton for 16 years and don't often come to this place. No real reason other than it's often busy and we are usually on our way somewhere else. But we were visiting the neighbouring museum for an exhibition and had the dog with us. As it was sunny we thought we'd take turns with the gallery whilst the other stayed with the dog and enjoyed a cuppa and a bit of a time with the Sunday papers in the sunshine. I'd forgotten what a relaxing place it could be despite being in the centre of town. It's a sun trap but with some shade from the trees. A nice mix of people, from day trippers to locals, many of whom have clearly been coming here for years. So it was a pleasant place for a cup of tea. Enough so, that we decided to stay on and have lunch when we were done with the exhibition. Simple, unpretentious food at reasonable prices. Being outside it relies on dry weather. But it also makes it dog, child and wheelchair friendly. What's not to like?

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrightonBelle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2017

BANG ON . A definite Brighton experience for a sunny day. Quality better than you would expect from a kiosk set in a perfect environment overlooking the pavllion to sit and chill on a sunny day.Prices are reasonable and always something to sit and see while you enjoy your drink and a snack.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Pavilion Gardens Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thanks for your kind feedback about our cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Lovely cup of tea in a wonderful atmosphere and gardens. Lovely staff, clean area and loved listening to the buskers in the gardens. What better way to spend a bit of down time.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _julietcox28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Pavilion Gardens Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely feedback on our cafe and staff.
We use Clipper two cup bags which I feel gives a really good cup of tea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

This little cafe situated right next to the Royal Pavilion seemed very popular. The prices seemed reasonable and quality was excellent. Plenty of staff working so queue went down quickly.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank ianwilson151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Pavilion Gardens Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely review.
We try to maintain good standards of quick service for our customers so they don't have to wait longer than needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Favourite pleace to come on a warm day for tea and for my family and dog (4 generations)lovely on a cold day but wrap up. Vistors love its oppiste the Pavilion and has lots of fat squirrels who dont hibanate due to being fed cake. Entertainment in the summer from brass bands to local fairs and you can hire a deckchair.
Helped fight local council when they wanted to close it down.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Gayemarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Pavilion Gardens Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thanks for your feedback and support over the years.
We are so pleased to retain regular customers who bring their families and dogs along to enjoy the cafe and gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pavilion Gardens Cafe also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Pavilion Gardens Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing