We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgot dishes and not very attentive ”
Review of Solera D Tapas

Solera D Tapas
Ranked #203 of 1,209 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Enjoy our great selection of authentic Spanish tapas with an Andalusian touch. Choose from classic tapas such as tortilla española or patatas bravas to lesser known dishes such as homemade iberian ham croquettes or braised iberian pork cheeks timbale. We also have a carefully selected Spanish wine list. Many of our wines are imported directly from the producers making them unique in the UK – the prices are very reasonable too. We also offer a wide selection of Spanish-style coffees and thick hot chocolates. You can enjoy your food and drink in our informal restaurant or, if the weather permits, our bustling street terrace or quiet patio. We also import many Spanish products that you can buy directly from our deli shop at great prices. See you soon/Hasta pronto!
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped in her one evening before meeting friends for quick bite.

Ordered a few tapas - potatoes then prawns came out. Waited for quite a while, same waitress came to collect dishes. Waited a few more minutes for next dishes.

Then had to question where rest of food was? Had been forgotten.

Our waitress (dark hair) hardly apologised- another blonde girl did and offered other dishes but we were running late.

Was not busy at all that night, so a bit disappointing.

Thank Dyetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala A, Gerente at Solera D Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Dyetrip,

We are sorry that your experience in Solera was disappointing.
We want to thank you that you've left this comment so we can investigate what happened.
This way, we'll be able to improve our service to avoid repeating these mistakes again.
We hope you give us a second chance and see you soon again.

Regards,
La Solera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Full disclosure. We've eaten at Solero a few times over the last few years and the food has been good with a good wine menu and a trendy vibe. But terrible treatment on our visit today. We booked a table for a family meal on a bank holiday friday days in advance. But when we turned up the booking had 'disappeared'. The staff were not helpful at all despite the fact we were able to explain when we called and who took our booking. Basically shrugged their shoulders didnt try to offer a solution or even an apology and waved the whole family out of the restaurant into a cold and wet bank holiday evening with every other restaurant in Brighton fully booked. Will not return.

Thank GailK04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala A, Gerente at Solera D Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear GailK04,

we are so sorry of hearing that your latest experience with us was a complete disaster.

We want to offer you a great apology for what happened. We also want to tell you that we have carried out an investigation so situations like this never happen again. Our staff cannot give us an answer of what happened with the reservation, so the only possible one is clearly that it was our terrible mistake.

We are also sorry about the fact that the team didn't know how to offer an apology and a solution that night because the restaurant was full. Once again, we apologize.

Regards,
Solera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Thank you so much Solera - after winning a meal for 2 we turned it into a family meal for 3. Absolutely delicious!!! Cannot recommend Solera Restaurant in Brighton more highly 5

They were turning people away who hadn’t booked so make sure you book at weekends - it is a cosy space but this was great as due to the friendly staff and great food and drink the atmosphere is lovely. Favourite dish garlic prawns but so many yummy dishes we didn’t chose - in fact we were advised to cut down the dishes we originally chose as it would be too much - next time croquettes, cod and padron peppers definitely on our list.

No dessert as were too stuffed but we enjoyed a bottle of Rioja and a sweet sherry.

Thank SparklyGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala A, Gerente at Solera D Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you, SparklyGill :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We’ve eaten here numerous times and it’s reliable good. Prices have crept up but it’s still reasonable. Cozy environment- but more tiny tables and low stalls so def not a dress up - expect to be cramped but that’s all part of the atmosphere and sharing tapas. Excellent prawns - never had a bad meal

Thank gezspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala A, Gerente at Solera D Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you gezspencer!
We appreciate a lot your comments. They give us the opportunity of improving. We hope to se you again soon!
Solera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

I came here when in Brighton for Valentine's Day with my partner and was very disappointed. Booked at least 2 weeks advance and yet when we arrived we were put in a back room with 2 tables in it right next to the door to the smoking area and it was freezing. Waited 15 minutes to even be offered any drinks. 3 of the things I wanted from the menu were sold out and on top of that they only had one of the three white wines on the menu. I always use trip advisor reviews to guide where I eat as I'm a real foodie so was really gutted that it let me down this time. Food was nice but not nice enough to compensate unfortunately.

Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala A, Gerente at Solera D Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Claudia S,

we are so sorry of hearing that you were dissapointed with your experience at Solera and that you didn't like the table. After the investigation, we don't know when you visited us, but probably was a busy day and we made some mistakes.
We apologize again and if you visit us again, we will work harder to make you enjoy your experience :)
Thank you for visiting us,

Solera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solera D Tapas also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Solera D Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing