We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
69
139
119
78
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
139
119
78
87
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Although an old building with tired decoration our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean.The bed was very comfortable. When we booked we were sure we had booked for breakfast but the receptionist told us that in fact breakfast was not included. We were also charged an extra £10 to park in their car park because we had not booked directly with the hotel. The car park was very untidy and dirty. Certainly would not want to stay for more than a couple of nights. Over priced considering no breakfast included.

Room Tip: Rooms st the rear are quieter but an awful outlook!
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank wendybrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

We were thrilled to read you enjoyed a good rest and found the room to be to your liking, mindful that the Courtlands strives to offer traditional, value for money accommodation in as great location, with the bonus of free WIFI. The car park is a great additional service we offer to ours guests but there is a tariff which compares very favourably with many of our competitors. Breakfast is an optional extra and in todays fast moving world, that is something the majority of our customers prefer; there is also a great choice of establishments locally. Even so we were sorry if you felt there was some confusion in this regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Hotel was reasonably priced and well located for trip. The decoration was tired however acceptable for the cost. Sadly in the two nights I spent there, the rooms in my immediate vicinity were occupied by young Americans visiting for a religious conference. During the night I was regularly disturbed by doors slamming and loud partying. This went on until approx 4am. The night porter tried hard to resolve but in reality the noise continued, this making the following days work very hard. If you need to be in Brighton for a working trip I would recommend avoiding this hotel however well placed.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank southwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

It is always disappointing to learn when a guest endures a disturbed nights sleep. Clearly the circumstances you describe need to be investigated fully as the hotel has stringent policies in place. It is not clear if you requested a different room?

More positively and this issue aside it sounded like the hotel met your overall needs in terms of location and price

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

I often spend weekends in Brighton and am looking at deals now but I stayed there last year for work and can't believe that people are giving such positive reviews. It's run down and when we drove into the car park (what turned out to be the staff car park) it had scrap laying around and a bunch of toilets on a storage unit. In fairness the staff were nice and it is central but it's certainly not a classy hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank Anjana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

This review is disingenuous as the guest car park is clearly sign-posted and in super condition,so while it is unfortunate this so called patron initially went to the staff area, we do not really see what this has to do with anything. It constitutes no more than 'radar chaff'

All in all the praise heaped on the staff is hollow. Also the timeline being quoted does not ring true and of course there are no details of the room making it impossible to respond fully. Furthermore why comment on the heartfelt and genuine reviews other guests choose to leave?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We had been looking forward to our stay away in Brighton and this experience was simply awful.

We arrived to find filthy soiled boxer shorts and a dirty towel in our bathroom and stained sheets on one of the beds. Filthy skirting boards in the bedroom and stained and filthy blind in the bathroom. A member of cleaning staff came to remove the soiled underwear and change the sheets but we had to ask a second time to get the area where the soiled underwear had been, cleaned.

After going out for a few hours we came back to find that our room had no electricity. The staff struggled to get the power back, and even got an electrical shock in the process due to the shockingly outdated electrics.

The room was unbearably hot with no way of cooling it down, we had all the windows fully open.

After paying for breakfast we ended up going elsewhere as everything was filthy. Dirty breakfast bowls and fingerprints on all the cutlery. Having read the reviews it really sounds like we did the right thing.

At no point were the staff friendly, they we’re persistently unapologetic. There wasn’t a single offer of making it up to us in anyway. As a family we have stayed in many different hotels from generic chains to many independent hotels but have never experienced anything so bad.

I expect to receive some counter response about us not being right for the hotel but I wonder who would put up with all of this for over £300 per night.

Simply disgusting!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
7  Thank Bigtangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

In our opening remarks we should say that hotels operate in a highly transparent and competitive marketplace where pricing is dynamic and sensitive to fluctuation in demand. Verily the Brighton Marathon is one of the highlights of the year when the City will be at its busiest

We should also say that the hotel retains a top food standard rating and has complied fully with the periodic EICR testing architecture. Thus the soundbite "shockingly outdated electrics" is histrionic and inaccurate in equal measure

In the circumstances, we have nothing but praise for our loyal and hardworking staff who really did perform in what was a busy and in the main entirely rewarding weekend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

This hotel suits me. It is close to my daughter, is reasonably priced and has good car parking nearby.
The hotel has been tarted up a bit since my last stay - new bathrooms and the car park has been surfaced.
Minus points:
I was allocated car park space No. 16. Avoid this and 17 at all costs. The
overhanging tree is a nest for enormous shitehawks.
In room 211, the bathroom door impinges on the carpet and is hard to open
quietly and without major effort.
The breakfast waiter looked as if he had slept in his trousers - very scruffy.
The check-in form asked for a newspaper selection. This never arrived and I was
told the the service is no longer offered - perhaps they should change the form!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bongtree2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

We appreciate your loyalty and for visiting us from lovely Jersey. Clearly there were some issues with your stay for which we apologise; in this regard your feedback is much appreciated. Hopefully your overall time in Hove was enjoyable, seeing your daughter and we are very much looking forward to seeing you again. Meanwhile renewed thanks for your continued support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews