We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“good but not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Brighton Metropole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2008

we stayed in a "Deluxe plus room" witch was good but nothing special, best feature was the balcony overlooking the seafront, the bed was massive and reasonable comfy, the hotel is undergoing refurbishment at the moment witch in parts it looks like it clearly needs! our room looked like it had already been updated but not to a very high standard the tv was still old and if you looked in the corners the paint work was shabby and the heating/ air con was very old and barley working! public areas looked tired but clean, breakfast was the usual Hilton affair. in all id say i would return to this hotel but would wait to the refurb is complete.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — insufficient aircon
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kev1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    1,013
    974
    641
    460
See reviews for
608
1,317
183
920
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

I stayed at the Brighton Hilton this weekend just gone as part of a conference. I have to admit to being rather excited about staying in a Hilton but sadly I was left very disappointed and would not return.

Reception - This is a nice area, very clean and pleasant but they never had enough staff on to assist leading to long queues to even ask the simplest questions.

Room - As part of a conference it is entirely by chance what sort of room you were allocated. I was given a single room and I find it exceptionally amusing that the sort of room i was allocated does not appear on the website, frankly because Hilton should be ashamed. The room was tiny, not in itsslef a complaint with mismatched furniture from the 1970s. My room overlooked a back alley and tower block of flats and as a result i couldn't open the window as there were people walking and talking under the window all night long. The bathroom was ok, no attention to detail with cracked towels and i was only given 1 large bath towel (i checked the wadrobe but no additional towels anywhere). Upon my return i checked to see the rate of room i was given - at £89 per night it was unbelievable. A colleageu of mine stayed in a hotel two doors down - b&b for about £60 per night the night before and advised that it didn't even compare in quality.

Temperature - the whole hotel was boiling. Some reception staff advised there was no air con, others that it was broken. it was very umcomfoirtable.

Food - as part of a conference we were mass catered for so i won't go into too much detail about the fact that the hot tarts for lunch reappeared as the cold evening starter. However the next morning as i was enjoying my coffee i marvelled at the lipstick mark i had left on my coffee cup before realsing i hadn't put any lipstick on that morning!

Bar - the bar was actually really nice, clean and not at all shabby. However i g&t and opne vodka cranberry set me back £11.50 which is frankly absurd.

Conlcusion - Don't bother. This hotel is overrated, overpriced and there are nicer cheaper boutique hotels to be had.

  • Liked — Location - right on the sea front
  • Disliked — The shabby room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriaoliver2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

My husband and our 16 year old son stayed here for one night in June. The hotel is in a great location (on the seafront) - 10 minute walk from the Pier. We had a family room which was big enough for the 3 of us. The rooms are more modern than the outside of the hotel. We dined in the restaurant but didn't think the food was that great - not a huge selection and everything was very bland. However, breakfast the following morning blew us away. It has everything you could ask for and more. The range and variety of food is just amazing. We've stayed in many hotels and this is by far the best breakfast we've ever had. Would definitely recommend and stay there again but would have dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sexyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

We stayed at the Brighton Hilton Metropole for a weekend in June 08. It is conveniently placed, towards the Hove end of the sea-front, within 15 mins walk of the station and 5 minutes from the main shopping area in Western Road. The front of the hotel overlooks the burnt-out remains of the historical West Pier. We had a family room towards the back of the hotel and although there wasn't a sea view, we were guaranteed a peaceful night's sleep away from the Hen and Stag night celebrations and people coming out of clubs near by.

I expected the hotel to be dark and Victorian but was pleasantly surprised. The room was basic but spacious and had been re-decorated. The bathroom however had not been renovated and was quite old with no blind at the window. The net curtains in the main bit of the room were brown and torn. There was also a tear in the duvet cover. 3 of us shared a room, with one double and one single bed. There was no mini-bar or fridge.

We had a special deal which involved a free dinner on the first night. This was adequate, but we were a bit disappointed to find it was a carvery, with a choice of beef or lamb. There were quite a few mix-ups, with the party next to us having their table completely cleared of all drinks etc while they were out of their seats at the carvery. The person showing people to their seats for breakfast was excellent at his job, remaining equally cheerful for everyone and explaining what there was to eat in detail. I had breakfast alone as the 2 people with me wanted to sleep-in. So it was amusing when the waitress pointed to the empty seat opposite me and asked what my husband would like to drink!

I thought I had done well to get a space in the hotel car-park. However when I came to check out, I found there was a charge of £14 a night.

  • Liked — The large size of the room
  • Disliked — The run-down bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravellingThrough100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2008

I stayed at the property on a Saturday whilst visiting friends in the city.
It is a grand old lady of a hotel with the expected dated parts that give it the charachter that you would expect in a Victorian puropse built hotel.
The public areas are very imprssive as is the service and attitude of the staff. I did not dine in the restaurant and therefore can not offer an opinion.
The rooms were fairly warm but no hotter that you would expect for the weather.
All in all a great hotel with a welcoming feel and a place I will definitely return to.

  • Liked — oldy worldy grandeur
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,099 reviews
0.6 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.7 km away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.3 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing