We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Dining and Service”

The Restaurant at Drakes
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Drakes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 1,321 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$76
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Considered by many to be Brighton's best restaurant, backed up by its status in the Good Food Guide, The Restaurant at Drakes is an elegantly stylish setting for any occasion. Subtle lighting casts moody shadows across exposed brickwork and rich colours throughout the intimate dining room while Drakes cocktail bar offers airy sea views and excellent cocktails. The kitchen team insist on the best of ingredients, fresh and seasonal, including fish bought daily from local fishing boats, to create the excellent, refined menu. A special place, unpretentious in its warm atmosphere, it's easy to see why The Restaurant at Drakes has such a reputation.
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We had the private room for the family of 8 and 3 children and ordered off the lunch menu. Do not expect a view because there isn't one. The complimentary lobster starters were delicious and the three courses were too. We had one vegetarian with us and his food was also good. Our waitress was friendly and knowledgeable and the service was first class. Considering the quality of food the price is very reasonable. All in all a delightful lunch.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacko070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

It is ten or so years since I lasted visited this time with six colleagues from all over the globe, we all enjoyed a super evening of wonderful food, excellent wine, and great service.

An amusee bouch of lobster tantalisingly good, followed by scallops, terrine, were all said to be outstanding, several choices of the wagu beff ot gnocci were ordered and I decided on the duck, which was oustanding, a pre dessert taster of cake was excellent.

And then the highlight of the meal souffle, and the chocolate ornage which can only be described as a triumph.

A truly delightful setting fantastic food, great ambiance and seven very satisfied customers, who will remember this evening for a very long time.

Thank you for making it a evening to remember.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Had a great Sunday lunch at Drakes, the food was excellent especially the wagyu beef. The service was really good and the waiter was excellent with his jokes and stories

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank stevedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We went for dinner. We ordered a 3 course meal with wine selection and a glas of chamagne before the meal. The waiter had a very strange behavior , sat in the sofa by my wife and was not able to serve wine at right time. the wine for the main coure were forgotten. worse service ever. The food was ok, but the fish was dry!

ÅgeSivertsen

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Åge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drakes-btn, Manager at The Restaurant at Drakes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear ÅgeSivertsen
Thank you for your review & we are very sorry you felt the service wasn't as it should have been. We are keen to speak to you regarding your experience, please could you contact our restaurant manager Anthony at your earliest convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Went for Sunday lunch. A rather limited selection of three starters and then two roasts - chicken or beef (but they had run out of beed when we got there) and two other main courses.

The food does taste really good and is very nicely presented. The roast chicken dish didn't look like a typical roast dinner - the chicken was chopped into large cubes - and I felt the portion was very much on the small size. Personally I would have liked more vegetables although a bit more chicken would have also been appreciated. My photo shows the dish at the start, without anything having been eaten from the plate.

The restaurant wasn't very busy but service was not particularly welcoming or attentive.

Very difficult to park. Possibly there are one or two places out front, if you can reserve them. Perhaps you could park along the road, using a meter. I had taken an Uber to avoid the problem.

I have eaten here before for an evening meal and it was very imaginative and beautifullly presented as well as tasting wonderful.I've even stayed at the hotel with an old fashioned bathtub in the bedroom and you can look out over the wheel at night!! I'd ecommend this as a place for a wonderful evening meal but it wouldn't be my choice again for a Sunday lunch.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sallyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Drakes also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Restaurant at Drakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing