We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,229)
Filter reviews
1,229 results
Traveller rating
799
319
57
30
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
319
57
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cocktail shack regency square roberts radio tiny arty sea view quirky hotel local artists west pier old west breakfast was included basement room loved this hotel bigger room comfy bed tea and coffee full english mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,229 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a group of 5 of us - we stayed Below Deck, in the Big One For 6. Such a gorgeous room decorated to the highest standard. The beds and bed linen were incredibly comfortable! Perfect family room in an excellent location. There is some level of noise being below the street level (and it was the weekend!) but it didn't ruin any sleep. We will be back!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SWLondoner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi SWLondoner7,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

It means so much to us that you enjoyed your stay in the Below Deck for up to 6. Being a small independent business, we really solely on the feedback from our guests.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the design of this room. We pride ourselves in our quirkiness and giving our guests a unique experience to anywhere they have stayed before.

All of our rooms are unique in style and we would love to have you return to try something different!

You could even visit our sister hotels in London, Penzance, Oxfordshire and coming soon ... Bristol!

Warm regards,

Ruby & the ARB team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a great boutique hotel in an excellent location. I loved the chic decor and the interesting art. Perfect room (claw foot bath and all), sea views, great service, and honestly the best veggie full english breakfast I've ever had. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alex,

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us!

We pride ourselves in providing a unique and fun experience for our guests and its great to hear that you appreciated all the little details at AR Brighton.

Thank you so much for all your positive feedback and I will be sure to pass it on to the rest of the team. Ahh yes, the Set do really provide the perfect start to a day. I have to say the veggie full English is one of my personal favourites too!

You were fabulous guests and we would love to have you return. You could even try our sister hotels in London, Penzance, Oxfordshire and coming soon.. Bristol!

Warm regards,

Ruby & the ARB team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Our second visit to the Artist Residence hotel in Brighton. Another amazing stay, in a cosy room with a fab view!
Were very disappointed to find out they now do not provide breakfast. The rooms are expensive enough as it is so very cheeky that breakfast is now an additional cost!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Leanne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are so glad to hear that you had another amazing stay with us! Being a small independent hotel It always feels special for us to have return guests.

It is true that breakfast has not been included in the rate from the beginning of this year. This is because the Set restaurant have taken over our breakfast and transformed our menu into mouth watering seasonal ingredients. The Set is an award winning independent restaurant in Brighton so you can understand why this was an exciting change for us.

We hope you found those fabulous flavours were worth the additional cost as we would love to welcome you back again! You could even visit our sister hotels in London, Oxfordshire, Penzance and coming soon... Bristol!

Warm regards,

Ruby & the ARB team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

I was allocated room 2, a great room on the first floor with the luxury of a floor to ceiling window meaning access to a balcony. This room is above the bar/restaurant and a low level of noise could be heard, not really disturbing but it was a Monday evening, could be different at the weekend.
Loved the complimentary espresso machine, proper milk and variety of teas provided in the room. The bathroom had a small bath with over the bath shower which had good pressure, soft towels and pleasant toiletries. My only qualm would be the 'loose-fitting' bathroom door, as a solo traveler it wasn't a problem but if sharing one might have more of a problem.
The bed was firm and bedding and pillows great.
All staff I interacted with were helpful.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank More_holidays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi More_holidays1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

It's so lovely to hear how you appreciated all the little details in the Comfy Balcony Sea View room. We do our very best to ensure that you have everything you need for your stay!

It means so much to hear your feedback about our staff - we will make sure to pass this on to the whole team. and thank you for your feedback regarding the sliding door! It is one of our quirkiest features but we will keep that in mind for the future. With regards to the noise, we do offer quiet rooms on our upper floors for the particularly light sleeper. Just let us know if this is a concern for you when booking in the future.

We hope to see you at AR Brighton again soon! Or even in one of our sister hotels in London, Oxfordshire, Penzance and coming very soon... Bristol!

Warm regards,

Ruby & the ARB team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

My wife and I, along with another couple, booked the Artists Residence for a couple of nights to just chill out after their daughters wedding. We did just that, and had a really enjoyable time. The rooms are all different and really quirky. Ours had small wasps painted on the walls and the decor was rustic. A galvanized tin wardrobe, a wooden gate for a headboard, and saloon type double doors to the bathroom all added to the atmosphere of staying here. It’s a listed building and is really pretty. Parking was easy in the car park directly across the road, it really couldn’t have been simpler, £36 from early Friday afternoon till Sunday late morning and it’s a very secure park.
Back to the hotel, the breakfast offers ample choices to satisfy every taste and desire. My favourite were the apple pancakes, something I wouldn’t normally have for breakfast, but they are a must, trust me on that one. All in all, location, service, food rooms and comfort are spot on, and you’ll enjoy your stay at the Artists Residence.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BigJohnDeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Hello BigJohnDeere,

We are so glad you had a relaxing time and felt as though you could chill out after the big day!

Thank you so much for all your positive feedback and I will be sure to let the rest of the team know. We pride ourselves in our quirky rooms and the murals on the walls teamed with some of the design feature you have mentioned, we think make each one special and are glad that you agree.

The Set really are outstanding in providing the best quality breakfast to our guests and Im so happy you enjoyed them as much as we do, ill have to give the apple pancakes a try soon!


We loved having you and it'd be our pleasure if you returned. You could even try our sister hotels in London, Penzance, Oxfordshire and coming soon.. Bristol!

Best,

Douglas and The ARB Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews