We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Don't regret the selection but won't go back.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queensbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Queensbury Hotel
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't regret the selection but won't go back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We were a last minute family traveling to Brighton. As you may know, it can be a bit tricky finding hotel rooms that can accommodate 2 adults and 2 children, without buying 2 separate rooms. So, we were ok to select the reasonably priced 1.5 star hotel as figured we could endure 1 night so long as we were together. Overall, the hotel, which is in a super location, is actually fine. It has a very pleasant, simple feel. In fact, our room, while on the lower ground floor (which I despise), looked fairly decent and was surprisingly spacious. It had NO art or decoration on the walls except for 1 long mirror and while the furniture was clearly low quality it looked alright in the room. The carpet was in need of replacement. The beds were just fine. The bedding looked clean. The bathroom was definitely creepers... The shower was a tiny, junky box. The shower head would not stay in its holder and looked slimy. The wall did have markings on it and the floor had tons of old moldy stains which, I suspect, came from the shower not draining properly and spilling out on to the floor. I showered after a day at the beach but decided to forgo it the day of departure. Also, the base boards in the bathroom were so dust infected, I am sure they had never been cleaned. On a positive note, the sink, toilet and bathroom fixtures looked brand new! Lastly, the breakfast at the hotel was just juice, coffee/tea, cereal and bread. Very basic. Unfortunately we paid £20, via Octopus Travel, more on our reservation for that. No good. So, again, it was fine for 1 night, but we will not plan to go back. We were ready to get out of there in the morning! While I will not answer yes to the "will you recommend it" question, I think if the price is right, you could give the hotel a try and probably be ok for a night or two.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibakeyummycakes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    59
    51
    32
    37
See reviews for
57
67
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

I stayed here overnight with some friends and admittedly I'm a bit fussy about accomodation. The hotel is set on a nice big square with a large green and great sea views plus three levels of underground parking (although stairwells reeked of urine).

Reception and stairwells looked nice and rooms had lovely high ceilings and chandeliers. Our room contained a single bed and a double bed - I slept in the double and found it to be no more or less comfortable than e.g. a Premier Inn bed. I slept like a log, although that was more due to the walk around Brighton and not the comfort of the bed. The pillows and duvet were thin but there were plenty of lovely white towels provided.

On closer inspection, two lightbulbs were out and the whole chandelier was very cobwebbed. The windows had very rickety old shutters that took some effort to open but the sea view was pleasant. Bathroom left a lot to be desired. I thought there was a moth in the shower so I didn't use it but my friend, who did use the shower, identified the moth as a mouldy piece of tape! Yummy. Everything in the bathroom worked OK but the walls were a dingy grey colour and had what I hoped were water marks on the wall, but I fear they were not. There was also an unsightly gap between the shower and wall filled with fluff and dust and the sliding door that separated the bathroom from the bedroom had gaps around it.

However, we were lucky to have a bathroom and ours friends had a shower but no toilet and so ended up using a bathroom on the landing. Breakfast was OK. My tea tasted a little odd and the cheese and ham were a bit plastic. However there was plenty of toast and cereals and juices. Staff were pleasant.

I don't think I would come back but it is OK for people on a budget and/or with low expectations.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pro_extra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Heath, Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

What a shame that this hotel isn't a little bit better. We loved our beautiful regency room with ceiling to floor windows and extravagant curtains etc. The location is spot on and the service was very friendly. Would love to say I would go back but the en suite was really terrible - the shower didn't work at all with very intermittent trickles of hot water but mostly just cold. Also if you have children there is nowhere to go after they go to bed - so we ended up going to bed very early. We avoided the breakfast after reading previous reviews so can't commentl

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary_Sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

I had such high hopes for our what I thought was a mini luxury hotel break.
the building is lovely and the room itself fine, apart from the fact that the window on the ground floor suite ( I thought we had the Superior suit on the first floor with view, as it states that on the booking form) is frosted and faces a block of flats and wall.
Sooo dissapointed with the bathroom, cheap fittings from B and Q cracked sink and the loo sit lose, which wasent good as it is such a small fit if we have been overweight would never have been able to use it. My husband was annoyed as we paid £99.00 for this room, he asked the chap that booked us in if we had the right room, as the answer was yes ! he was told that it was because it was the weekend !!!!!! it would normaly be £45.00.......
having said that we had a good night out and I did sleep...possibly alcahol induced though.
I only realised it was continental breakfast after booking it, which I thought ok we stay in France a lot ..but as previous people have said the ham and cheese tasteless and would have expected fruit yoghurts etc... they need to up the game a bit as it could be good.
The general feeling was that the hotel and staff tired and you have to help yourself.
sadly would not recomend and will not return.
I would not normaly complain over picky things but we are not afluent and this was a little treat !!!!!!

Room Tip: good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElaineNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Went with a friend & we shared a twin room for 1 night which came to £39 for the both of us, including breakfast! Bargin! The room was a good size, and clean & tidy. Theres a shower which is in the room & the doors are frosted - so it doesn't give a lot of privacy. The shower is quite small too! The toilet is further up the coridoor and is shared with a few other rooms.
This b&b is in a great location, about a 10min walk from the train station, 5mins from town centre & 10mins away from the pier and sealife centre.
All in all there may be 1 or 2 minor niggles but i feel it was denatly worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cinders82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.0 km away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#34 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 km away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensbury Hotel

Property: The Queensbury Hotel
Address: 58 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queensbury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Queensbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing