We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location, comfortable accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Steam Railway Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Steam Railway Cottage
Living Room French patio doors in lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Steam Railway Cottage
Living Room
French patio doors in lounge
Sunny Courtyard Garden
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom - kingsize bed
2nd Bedroom double bed
3rd Bedroom with Bunk Beds
Main bathroom
En suite shower room
Dining Room
Swanage Bay Punch and Judy
Steam train near Corfe Castle
Swanage Steam Railway Engine Workshop
View from bedroom window
Corfe Castle Station
Swanage Steam Railway Sation
Steam train at nearby work shed
Swanage Steam Train
Swanage Bay Beach
Durdle Door
North end of Swanage Bay Beach
Swanage Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent location, comfortable accomodation”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Comfortable cottage in quiet mews within walking distance of seafront and shops. Excellent Coop 5 minutes away so self-catering enjoyable and easy - fresh croissants for breakfast, a holiday pleasure! Steam trains and ducks just outside the front door. Good facilities, 2 bathrooms, 3 WCs, outside courtyard. Large TV and Wifi, so a rainy afternoon not a problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing to make coffee in
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of a welcoming hamper
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Poiuytrew...
2 reviews
“Lovely house, great location.”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Steam Railway Cottage has everything you need for a family holiday. It is close to shops and the beach and has the added bonus of a steam train passing the house every 40 minutes during the day. Our children have been converted to steam! The area is quiet but just on the edge of town so everything is close by. We loved eating our evening meal in the courtyard garden while the sun set behind the cottage. There was a good selection of DVDs for a rainy mornings entertainment and the iPhone docks were an added surprise. The house was spotless and everything felt new. We had a fantastic week and are hoping to return soon. I would recommend this cottage to anyone!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo W
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A brilliant holiday!”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Steam Railway Cottage with our 2 year old and 4 month old and want to share how fantastic it is. We have stayed in several cottages in the South West, and this is the best we’ve encountered by far. The cottage is spotlessly clean, modern and comfortably furnished, with some lovely home from home touches. The owners very kindly put up safety gates, a travel cot, and high chair ready for our arrival and provided cutlery and crockery suitable for children. We also appreciated that blinds and sockets had been made safe in the children’s room. These touches make such a difference to a family holiday! The location is excellent, 5 minutes to town and no more than 10 to the beach. Our daughter loved the viewing area for the Swanage railway, just a toddle up the road and our week was punctuated with excited shouts of “Train!” every time the steam engine chuffed past. Brilliant. We can also recommend Farmer Palmers (toddler heaven), Monkey World, Knoll Beach Studland, the steam railway to Corfe and, of course, the lovely town of Swanage.
A brilliant holiday and can’t recommend the cottage highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Safe for children.
Liked least: Nothing - all great.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth4...
Peterborough
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Recommended”
Reviewed 8 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed a week at the Steam Railway Cottage, which we booked before noticing the reviews already on TA. And we were not to be disappointed.
The house itself is perfectly furnished and decorated, and is set about a 10 minute walk from the centre of Swanage. We booked because I like railways and it overlooks the Swanage Railway another plus point, though my wife is not so sure...
The property has a garage, which you do have to leave your car in and not in the private court yard. Not a problem for me though my VW Touran was a tight squeeze and just fitted.
The only slight issue I had with the property is that I did find the bed in the master bedroom slightly hard at times, but am sure others would find it giving a perfect nights sleep (all down to personal taste). Other than that I would readily score the property 5 out of 5.
The only room for improvement would be if WiFi could be offered, but this was not really an issue for me as I am on O2 and my iPhone was consistently picking up 3G on 2 to 3 bars (I like to stay connected so that I can search out what to do, timetables, restaurants etc).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing