We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly service yet again - dog friendly”
Review of Hendover Cafe

Hendover Cafe
Ranked #5 of 143 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$16
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A bright and attractive contemporary cafe offering fast and friendly service. Large range of meals and snacks made using fresh ingredients. Family and dog friendly! Healthy and interesting children's menu and choices for special diets and requirements. Pre-orders and takeaway service available. Private parties catered for by arrangement. Open 7 days a week.
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Good to come to this place again, and have a refreshing cup of tea and café that was on special offer with friends - another good place that will willing accept dogs and the dog was made a fuss of so they were happy too

This café is in an ideal location for using the train back to Bristol (using Dorchester WEST) - which is an unmanned station and is only less than 5 minutes away

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely cafe. Made to feel very welcome for breakfast with friends on a rainy morning. The staff made a big fuss of our dog and brought him some sausages to eat. We all enjoyed our meal and found the atmosphere modern and efficient.

Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulcol2011, Owner at Hendover Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Thank you Jane,

We are glad you all enjoyed your time in the cafe and we wish you your friends and of course your pooch a great new year

Paul and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Called in on a Saturday morning for breakfast after seeing sign of 2 for 1 on English breakfasts. Excellent full English breakfast and 2 coffees for £11. Could not fault.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank terence047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Well that took me totally by surprise. Popped in for breakfast whilst getting my motorbike serviced and was simply stunned by the size and quality of the English breakfast. Really delicious. Even the ketchup and brown sauces are homemade.

Very friendly and accommodating couple running it.

1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulcol2011, Owner at Hendover Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Hi Chris,

Just a quick thank you for your review, our job is to leave customers with a smile on their face, so job done with you.

Thanks

Paul and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

We popped into Hendover Cafe purely because of being dog friendly and we had our pooch with us. We were surprised at how friendly we were made to feel, nothing was too much trouble and the coffee, homemade biscuits and breakfasts are amazing! Top ingredients at very reasonable prices. Needless to say We will be back.

Thank NicolaS4187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulcol2011, Owner at Hendover Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hello Nicola,

Thank you we appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you and your pooch again.

Paul and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hendover Cafe also viewed

Dorchester, Dorset
 
 

Been to Hendover Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing