We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast stop”
Review of Hendover Cafe

Hendover Cafe
Ranked #5 of 143 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$16
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A bright and attractive contemporary cafe offering fast and friendly service. Large range of meals and snacks made using fresh ingredients. Family and dog friendly! Healthy and interesting children's menu and choices for special diets and requirements. Pre-orders and takeaway service available. Private parties catered for by arrangement. Open 7 days a week.
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We stopped for breakfast on a cold Sunday morning. We all had something different but everyone agreed that it was delicious. They also had homemade brown and red sauce. It was lovely and clean. There was also disabled toilet. The only thing wrong was that the chairs were cold to sit on but they had some cushions so we sat on them

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maggi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulcol2011, Owner at Hendover Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hello Maggi,

Thank you for your review and lovely comments we are happy you enjoyed your visit and in future I will get the staff to sit on the chairs in the morning to warm them up for you.

Paul and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

The best thing about this cafe is Carole, always there, always friendly, always smiling... It should be called Carole’s.

Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

I went into the Hendover café (not too sure how long since the name change from Paninis) but some of the décor has been done along with the history of the name on the tables - called in for a nice cup of tea with friends and it was also was great to have a place that welcomed dogs (not that they advertise this much which is great - whoops the cat is out of the bag now) Even the dog had a treat, which made the dogs day!!

Nice to have somewhere open that is close to the station for the trains back to the Bristol direction

I am sure that we will be back there for lunch and now we know that our 4 legged companions are welcome then we will be back

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulcol2011, Owner at Hendover Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Hello Ann,

Thank you for your review and very happy that you and your friends and of course your pooch enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Paul and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Only stopped in for a mid-morning pot of tea. Service very good and everywhere, including the toilet, very clean. Quite refreshing in these days of fast food outlets that don't seem to care.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ilderv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulcol2011, Owner at Hendover Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us and glad you enjoyed your visit, takes allot of hard work to keep the toilets up to standard and not many people mention it so thank you

Paul and the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We'd been in Dorchester on Sunday morning and, having passed the cafe before, we decided to call in and have the Sunday Roast. It was as good a decision as we've made in a long time! Paul and his very friendly staff provided us with an absolutely delightful Sunday Roast. Slices of beef, excellent vegetables, beautiful roast spuds and oodles of tasty gravy. I had a terrific Sticky Toffee Pudding and my wife had a divine lavender & clove home-made ice cream.
Couldn't be bettered.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Upton72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulcol2011, Manager at Hendover Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Hello Upton,

Thank you for your lovely review and sorry it has taken me so long to acknowledge it. We are glad you enjoyed your roast and puds and we look forward to seeing you again.

Paul and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hendover Cafe also viewed

Dorchester, Dorset
 
 

Been to Hendover Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing