We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$240
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$121
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Green House(Bournemouth)
US$180
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bamboo Guesthouse(Bournemouth)
US$111
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,616)
Filter reviews
1,617 results
Traveller rating
708
567
229
67
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
708
567
229
67
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalum chineindoor poolself cateringgames roomtable tennisbalcony and sea viewland traindog friendly hotelfamily roomshort breakbournemouth pierdance floorleisure facilitiesevening entertainmentthe main hotelsingle bedsea front
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 1,617 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We had a 4 night stay at the Riviera hotel in August and we all really enjoyed it,it is very family oriented so if you are looking for a restful peaceful holiday it probably would not be the place to go,but as we had our daughter and her husband and our two young granddaughters it was perfect.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble.
We had a double room which was fine if a little on the small side.
The breakfast was self service and was good quality with plenty of choice,we hadn't booked for the evening meal as we were intending to go out to eat,but most evenings we just ate in the bar which had a good menu and all our meals were very good,as were the cocktails
There is a play area for the children with a good selection of toys,plus table tennis,pool table and table football.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davd_jefferies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivman2017, Sales and Events Assistant at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is great to hear that you and your family enjoyed the break here with us. We hope to see you again soon. Best! L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here in general. However, our room was is the apartment block. It was very noisy especially at night. The noise came from the road outside and from the other rooms around us. We reported this to reception on our departure.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 3poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivman2017, Sales Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that your stay, on the whole, was a positive one. We have recently put up signs around the apartments requesting that guests keep noise to a minimum out of respect for other people within the block so, hopefully, any problem that you identified will be rectified. The road outside is, however, very quiet so it is unlikely that you would have had much noise from their.

We hope to see you again soon.

A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

After looking through loads of hotels we picked this hotel. Really lovely stay for a family although slightly over priced as rooms were dated, in need of some tlc and small (for a family of 4). Reception staff and breakfast staff were lovely and VERY friendly....bar staff ok.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a family as facilities are brilliant....indoor pool and games room were lovely, kept my two boys very happy. Very close to the beach and lovely park. We managed to park easily everyday.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for a family and we would 100% go back for another stay. A big shout out and thank to the reception staff!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank nicolestudent78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivman2017, Sales Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. I have passed your kind words onto the team who were equally delighted to get a shout out. We are in the process of updating all of our rooms though this may take some time as we have nearly 80 (including our apartment block). If you call us direct to book your next visit, we will make sure you have a larger room.

See you again!

A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here (family of four) for four nights in Aug 17.

Booked a family room which had bunk beds for the kids and a double for us. We were placed in a room outside of the main hotel right on the side of the outdoor pool which wasn't the best. The room was small and a bit grotty. Bathroom really needed renovation and there was wallpaper and paint peeling of the walls. To be fair, it was cleaned every day but it just wasn't very nice for the £600+ we paid, which was extortionate.

We also found out on our first morning that the £600+ didn't include breakfast which makes the price even more ridiculous.

The indoor pool is ok but again needs some TLC, the outdoor one was grotty and I wouldn't go in it. The small gym was ok and nice and clean.

Staff on reception and at the bar weren't particularly friendly, but not all of them, some were friendly but some could barely raise a good morning or even look at you.

Bar area was alright, kids enjoyed the pool table and table tennis, but the bar was shut before 11!

On the plus side, it's close to Alum Chine beach.

There's also hardly any parking and the spaces were often full.

Overall, it's an average place and very expensive for what you get.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivman2017, Sales Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. I should like to address the points raised as follows:

Our rates are very competitive for Bournemouth and, having checked across the area for the time you stayed, were actually lower than a lot of hotels (and we have a lot more to offer!). I notice that you booked via a third party site. Booking direct with the hotel will always get you the best rates and we will be able to advise you of rate inclusions so you won't get a surprise on check-in when you haven't booked breakfast.

We are in the process of updating our bedrooms so, over time, these will all be to the highest standard. With almost 80 rooms, this is a long term project!

The outdoor pool is certainly not "grotty" and has been enjoyed by many families over the course of the summer. It is checked 3 times a day by our trained team.

I find your comments about our team to be rather odd everyone always says how cheerful they are!

It is a shame that you should comment on the parking spaces. We have around 50 spaces on site and the roads are free to park on too. To criticise a FREE facility is unfair especially as we are one of the only hotels to offer this (some charge up to £20 per car per night for the privilege of parking!)

Our bar is open 24 hours a day to residents, all you need to do is ask at reception and we will arrange for someone to get your drinks for you.

We do take on board all feedback and will endeavour to improve for future guests where we can.

Regards

A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Had a fortnight holiday and a wedding here , stayed in the apartments, the hotel and apartments are great , very clean, all the staff are wonderful and the wedding was arranged brilliantly, we shall visit again , highly recommended, just a few points.....the parking for the apartments isn't brilliant, needs to have a numbered allocated space and not a free for All.........we accept that it's a dog friendly hotel (we not dog lovers) but having them in the bar area and around food isn't very good , we saw on two occasions dogs on eating tables in the bar area , put us off eating there so we eat elsewhere , but apart from that a fantastic fortnight , oh and get the outdoor pool heated , it's bloody freezing lol

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank hannah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivman2017, Sales Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We were thrilled to welcome your whole family to the hotel whilst you celebrated your Big Day. It is a shame you let the dogs put you off of eating with us. We allow dogs into the bar area so that their owners can have somewhere to dine. They are not allowed on the furniture and we always ask guests with dogs to be thoughtful to other guests around them. We'll see you again soon.

Best!

A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews