We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We booked a short family break and stopped in the apartments attached to the hotel. The apartments themselves look tired and rather drab from the outside however, the interiors are much much better with plenty of space and facilities for a family of four. The hotel is in a great location for the blue flag beaches at Alum Chine and Sandbanks. Also ideally placed for trips into Westbourne, Poole and Bournemouth.
We found it a very family friendly hotel with helpful and welcoming staff and activities for all ages and would definitely stop there again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brentnikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivman2017, Front Office Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you found our apartments to be spacious and well equipped for the 4 of you! Its great to hear you were able to use us as a base to discover the wonderful area we are situated in.


We hope to welcome you back again soon

All the Best

C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

We had a 4 night stay at the Riviera hotel in August and we all really enjoyed it,it is very family oriented so if you are looking for a restful peaceful holiday it probably would not be the place to go,but as we had our daughter and her husband and our two young granddaughters it was perfect.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble.
We had a double room which was fine if a little on the small side.
The breakfast was self service and was good quality with plenty of choice,we hadn't booked for the evening meal as we were intending to go out to eat,but most evenings we just ate in the bar which had a good menu and all our meals were very good,as were the cocktails
There is a play area for the children with a good selection of toys,plus table tennis,pool table and table football.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davd_jefferies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivman2017, Sales and Events Assistant at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is great to hear that you and your family enjoyed the break here with us. We hope to see you again soon. Best! L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here in general. However, our room was is the apartment block. It was very noisy especially at night. The noise came from the road outside and from the other rooms around us. We reported this to reception on our departure.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 3poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivman2017, Sales Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that your stay, on the whole, was a positive one. We have recently put up signs around the apartments requesting that guests keep noise to a minimum out of respect for other people within the block so, hopefully, any problem that you identified will be rectified. The road outside is, however, very quiet so it is unlikely that you would have had much noise from their.

We hope to see you again soon.

A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

After looking through loads of hotels we picked this hotel. Really lovely stay for a family although slightly over priced as rooms were dated, in need of some tlc and small (for a family of 4). Reception staff and breakfast staff were lovely and VERY friendly....bar staff ok.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a family as facilities are brilliant....indoor pool and games room were lovely, kept my two boys very happy. Very close to the beach and lovely park. We managed to park easily everyday.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for a family and we would 100% go back for another stay. A big shout out and thank to the reception staff!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank nicolestudent78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivman2017, Sales Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. I have passed your kind words onto the team who were equally delighted to get a shout out. We are in the process of updating all of our rooms though this may take some time as we have nearly 80 (including our apartment block). If you call us direct to book your next visit, we will make sure you have a larger room.

See you again!

A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here (family of four) for four nights in Aug 17.

Booked a family room which had bunk beds for the kids and a double for us. We were placed in a room outside of the main hotel right on the side of the outdoor pool which wasn't the best. The room was small and a bit grotty. Bathroom really needed renovation and there was wallpaper and paint peeling of the walls. To be fair, it was cleaned every day but it just wasn't very nice for the £600+ we paid, which was extortionate.

We also found out on our first morning that the £600+ didn't include breakfast which makes the price even more ridiculous.

The indoor pool is ok but again needs some TLC, the outdoor one was grotty and I wouldn't go in it. The small gym was ok and nice and clean.

Staff on reception and at the bar weren't particularly friendly, but not all of them, some were friendly but some could barely raise a good morning or even look at you.

Bar area was alright, kids enjoyed the pool table and table tennis, but the bar was shut before 11!

On the plus side, it's close to Alum Chine beach.

There's also hardly any parking and the spaces were often full.

Overall, it's an average place and very expensive for what you get.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivman2017, Sales Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. I should like to address the points raised as follows:

Our rates are very competitive for Bournemouth and, having checked across the area for the time you stayed, were actually lower than a lot of hotels (and we have a lot more to offer!). I notice that you booked via a third party site. Booking direct with the hotel will always get you the best rates and we will be able to advise you of rate inclusions so you won't get a surprise on check-in when you haven't booked breakfast.

We are in the process of updating our bedrooms so, over time, these will all be to the highest standard. With almost 80 rooms, this is a long term project!

The outdoor pool is certainly not "grotty" and has been enjoyed by many families over the course of the summer. It is checked 3 times a day by our trained team.

I find your comments about our team to be rather odd everyone always says how cheerful they are!

It is a shame that you should comment on the parking spaces. We have around 50 spaces on site and the roads are free to park on too. To criticise a FREE facility is unfair especially as we are one of the only hotels to offer this (some charge up to £20 per car per night for the privilege of parking!)

Our bar is open 24 hours a day to residents, all you need to do is ask at reception and we will arrange for someone to get your drinks for you.

We do take on board all feedback and will endeavour to improve for future guests where we can.

Regards

A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.9 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
220 reviews
1.8 km away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
2.8 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.9 km away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,124 reviews
2.6 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: €42 - €334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing