We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and very popular”

Koh Thai Bournemouth
Ranked #67 of 836 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$47
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Koh Thai Tapas offers innovative yet classic Thai cuisine of the highest calibre. The combined vision of three intrepid foodies; Koh really encapsulates the authenticity of Thai cooking with the European ideals of relaxed dinning and the tantalising option to sample a little of everything. Our flagship restaurant in Bournemouth with 150 cover restaurant and 150 cover bar. Perfect for any occasion.
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We visited as it was just down the road from our Premier Inn. It has a great atmosphere and it was very busy for a Monday night so obviously very popular. We opted for the set meal at £26 a head and were not disappointed. The starters were excellent as were the main courses although the Lamb Massaman was bland and was probably the least flavoursome I've ever had (although still very edible).

Not the best Thai I've ever eaten but it's up there with one of the better ones and i'd definitely return if i was back in the area.

Thank brackencakes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KohCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Koh Thai Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi brakencakes123,

Thank-you for your review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
The Koh Thai Tapas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 279 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Perfect experience for my nan's 65Th Birthday.
Our waitress Stephanie is a credit to the company! She was enthusiastic, happy to help with anything and genuinely a great server for us through out the night.. Thank-You!
The food, atmosphere, and service was incredible.
There was 10 of us so we fully understood if there was to be a wait as the restaurant was pretty much fully booked, however food was efficient, full of flavours and a great aspect of our evening. Very much enjoyed.

I highly recommend this place to anyone, and most of all my Nan loved her evening at koh Thai Tapas and is planning to return, We all are.

Thank Noemi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KohCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Koh Thai Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi Noemi D,

Thank-you for your 5* review!

We are thrilled to hear you all enjoyed your evening and have passed your lovely comments on to Stephanie and the rest of the Koh Bournemouth team.

Kind Regards
The Koh Thai Tapas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

We have visited often firstly to the original place in Boscombe and the Bournemouth restaurant as our local, but have also been to the branches in Bath and Winchester so it is fairly safe to call ourselves regulars. We have continued to dine here as the flavours are excellent and the quality had previously never wavered, however my opinion on that has changed. Last night I had tempura prawns that fell out of a mass produced coating with a small, overdone duck breast in tamarind sauce. We had to order an extra bowl of rice when previously we had trouble finishing the first one. My husband's dinner consisted of vegetables and again he noticed a definite reduction in the portion sizes which is just mean. Other diners were also questioning the size and amount of meat in their dishes. Whilst I am pleased that the company is going from strength to strength I don't think expansion should be funded by the regular diner. Stop assuming that it is okay to reduce standards because so much of your trade comes from tourism and remember how good you were when you started out.

1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Visited lunchtime with a two course Mel by groupon and was delighted. Had satay chicken and pork balls for starters. The salmon served with a Penang sauce was a lovely main. We were full as portion was just right.they do lovely cocktails and certain time of day it's half price. Service is good

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beth62414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KohCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Koh Thai Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi beth62414,

Thank-you for your kind review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent Groupon lunch and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards
The Koh Thai Tapas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by a friend and it didn't disappoint. All the food was fantastic. We had the tasting menu between 6 of us. There was plenty of food and it was nice to try a bit of everything. Tasting menu is slightly expensive at £22-£26 per person but the menu is otherwise reasonably priced and you can get a main course for <£10. Red and green curries particularly stood out.

Thank paraicb1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KohCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Koh Thai Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi paraicb1000,

Thank-you for your 5* review!

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards
The Koh Thai Tapas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koh Thai Bournemouth also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Koh Thai Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing