We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring Thermal Underwear” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hinton Firs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hinton Firs Hotel
Ranked #53 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Westerham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bring Thermal Underwear”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

With the outside temperature ranging from around minus 4 degress C to plus 3 degrees C, I would have expected the hotel heating to be going at full blast - NOT THE CASE - when we checked in at about 3.00pm our room was but cold and were advised the heating would come on about 4.30pm.

What should have been an enjoyable weekend was spoilt by a freezing cold bedroom, only marginally rectified (after several complaints) by provision of an electric convector heater.

Overall view: an hotel not to any adequate standard as regards heating, in need of refurbishment externally, food and service of mediocre standard. As regards *** rating, 2** at best and that's being generous.

There are many hotels in Bournemouth of 4**** rating and a few of 5***** rating - suggest you try one of those.

PT

Room Tip: Try going in the Summer - rooms will probably be hot and humid as no air-con
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    104
    86
    37
    40
See reviews for
80
143
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at the Hinton Firs for one night (a Saturday) during January 2012. We were looking for a budget stay accessible to Bournemouth centre.

The Hinton Firs staff were all very helpful throughout our stay. The communal lounges are comfortable, the rooms are adequate and clean, in line with the price we paid. It is an easy walk into Boscombe, a short taxi in the evening to Bournemouth centre. The typical clientele is a little older, but this is to expected and reflective of the other hotels in the vicinity. The hotel is subject to some refurbishment, it looks like this is ongoing. The rooms probably need a little updating, but we expected that. Above all, they were very clean and functional, with all the amenities we needed for a comfortable value stay.

We didn't dine at the restaurant, but did enjoy breakfast, which was perfect. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this hotel, the service is exceptional for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_seward, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you so much for your your positive feedback, following your recent stay at the Hinton Firs Hotel

I am pleased to read you thought the hotel was excellent value for money and the rooms and communal areas were adequate and clean.

The hotel does have an ongoing refurbishment scheme

I am pleased to read all my team were friendly and went out of their way to make your stay an exceptional one.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hinton Firs Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Our booking was made through Groupon and was not made be use, we brought it has a package deal along with concert tickets. It was the tickets we really wanted so the hotel was abonus.

The deal we had was for 1 night bed and breakfast with afternoon tea, a glass of fizz and a bottle of wine in our room.

The outside of the hotel could do with a bit of sprucing up, but good first impressions. Reception staff very helpful quick check in and helped us book a taxi for our concert on the evening. We went to our room for a quick look and was pleased with the room it was nicely decorated and of a good standard. The room was a little cold so we turned up the heating and soon became warm enough. The bathroom was a different matter, there was no heating in there at all and it was freezing. The bathroom was a little dated and would of benefitted from some work being done on it. Having said that it was spotlessly clean.

We had our afternoon tea and glass of fizz in a nice lounge and was a pleasent hour spent relaxing before getting ready for our concert. Unfortuntely when it came to getting ready we could get no hot water and the shower was nothing more than a trickel.

On our return there was a singer doing his act in the lounge, he was not brilliant but again we had a good time relaxing before bed, drinks at the bar where a fair price not to expensive at all.

We had a good nights sleep bed very comfy, but again in the morning water problems in the bathroom. Breakfast was excellent, the hotel manager came round and said good morning to everyone which I felt was a nice touch and something you don't see very often anymore.

Overall we where more than happy with our stay for the money we paid it was a good deal and would use the hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_seward, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you so much for your your positive feedback, following your recent stay at the Hinton Firs Hotel,

We welcome feedback, and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the Group on offer especially the surroundings your afternoon tea was served in.

I have investigated the shower pressure in your room and have informed my maintenance department to rectify the problem.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hinton Firs Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Groupon deal. Still actually more expensive than across the road brilliant boutique hotel. Cold room. Tiny. old fashioned decor. Towels dreadful, threads hanging off all of them. Not worth money even on groupon. Much better available in this area. Housekeeping banging on door at 10.20 telling us to get out. Ordered afternoon tea on deal at 7.20 told would be 5-10 mins, at 7.55 still nothing. We left!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spain_UK_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_seward, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Hinton Firs Hotel using the Group On offer.

I have fully investigated all your above comments and am delighted to inform you that all your comments have been addressed.

In regards to the 3 pictures you have posted alongside this review I have spoken to the relevant Maintenance & Housekeeping departments and have ensured these faults with the room you stayed in have been rectified straight away.

Here at the Hinton Firs I make customer service a very high priority and we have many guests returning to the hotel due to the friendly staff and attention to detail.

Should you be in the area in the future I would be more than delighted to meet with you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

We have stayed here before and although I believe there has been a change in management, the hotel still seems much as it always has been - slightly old-fashioned but clean and comfortable. We find the location good, as we like to walk and don't mind the steep slopes - we can go either to Boscombe or Bournemouth centre, or down to the sea front.
The room was comfortable, if in need of a small repairs; the food was excellent but the service was rather slow and the serving staff, who were all charming, seemed to find it hard to cope with a large party. The indoor pool was beautifully warm to bathe in, but the surrounding needed a few repairs.
This is how it is - it could be a lovely hotel, but there are 'buts' in every category. It needs a number of 'tweaks' to raise it's profile , so overall at the moment it can only be 'average'.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elanora1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#41 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.2 km away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.1 km away
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Village Hotel Bournemouth
#33 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.4 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 km away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hinton Firs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinton Firs Hotel

Property: Hinton Firs Hotel
Address: 9 Manor Road, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinton Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to Hinton Firs Hotel, set in tranquil gardens on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff, just a few minutes' walk from the sea. Our traditional three star hotel is family owned, which means that we create an ideal atmosphere to ensure that your stay is a real home from home. We take pride in offering a truly personal service, and firmly believe that our hospitality is unrivaled. With beautiful beaches a stone's throw away, two theatres on the doorstep, as well as excellent shopping and many leisure activities, Hinton Firs Hotel is the perfect place to explore, be entertained or just unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Hinton Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Firs Hotel Bournemouth
Hinton Firs Bournemouth
Hotel Hinton Firs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing