We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The feeling of a Bygone age” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Bath
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
West Sussex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The feeling of a Bygone age”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Lovely old fashioned hotel with enormous public rooms and very centrally situated. Literally yards from the beach and shops and exudes a hint of times past. Very comfortable and the food was excellent. Only drawback is the parking - very little and what they have is very expensive. Plenty of 24 hour car parks within 2 minutes walk at a third of the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CourseMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your stay at the Royal Bath Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the traditional style of the hotel to your preference. The cliff top location is fantastic and we are very privileged to enjoy such a central location to Bournemouth and its shopping facilities. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Many thanks & Kind regards, Gill Stringer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    640
    570
    486
    600
See reviews for
382
1,365
79
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just returned from 2nd visit The royal Bath what a location yes carparking is expensive but its valet parking all part of the experience if you want to save £6 a night leave your car in the open air ncp this place has charm staff excellent all of them food excellent and good value eat in Oscars very nice took our dog was made to feel most welcome Devere have got this one right this place has everthing you need excellent gym excellent staff excellent food and great value cannot wait to return thanks again to all the staff wh helped make this another great break

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garrygo0odman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your stay at the Royal Bath Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the hotel leisure facilities and food offering in Oscars to be of a high standard. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in near future. Many thanks & Kind regards, Gill Stringer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Hotel spa facilities are fabulous! Big swimming pool, sauna, steam room. Room was spacious with a big balcony and for an extra £10 per night we were upgraded to a seaview room. It was worth every penny! We booked through the lastminute website and it was one of this top secret hotels. Hotel is situated 5 minutes away from the Bournemouth Pier with lots of restaurants and bars close by and about a 10 minute walk to the main shopping area. The hotel's restaurant Oscar's is a really good restaurant, reasonably priced set menus but the wine menu is pretty expensive. Parking is available at £20 per night but just litteraly next door from the hotel there is a ncp parking at 13 quid per 24 hours. Great value. I would happily recommend. Staff were warm and helpful. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritamanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your stay at the Royal Bath Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you took advantage of our privileged cliff top location and the easy access down to the seafront whilst staying with us. Our staff take great pride in the service they offer and I am pleased to hear that you found them both helpful and polite; I will ensure this feedback is passed on to them. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in near future. Many thanks & Kind regards, Gill Stringer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Pennines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I have stayed here several times on business. This is a grand hotel but in need of a little bit of attention in some places. Back in September last year, I stayed in one room which had no internet access at all (the ports didn't work), had peeling wallpaper and I woke up to find a leak in the bathroom (from the ceiling above). I was moved quickly to a huge room - really beautiful huge room - and the staff could not have been more sympathetic and helpful. I just wanted to mention that incident because they dealt with it so well.

The food is great, business facilities good, staff are friendly, helpful and polite and the location is fabulous. The gardens at the rear of the hotel are beautiful to walk in and lead to a lovely coastal path at the back which has stunning views. Also this hotel is in a good location for a walk into the town - it's only a few minutes walk away.

Overall I always enjoy my stays at the Royal Bath and can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your stay at the Royal Bath Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you took advantage of our privileged cliff top location and the easy access down to the seafront whilst staying with us. Our staff take great pride in the service they offer and I am pleased to hear that you found them both helpful and polite; I will ensure this feedback is passed on to them. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in near future. Many thanks & Kind regards, Gill Stringer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at the Royal Bath for the weekend of the 17th February. We have stayed here before and really rate it. For the deal it was great value for money. The food was exceptional especially the chocolate fondant! The pool and gym are adequate and I had a massage which was lovely and very reasonable. Our room was bug and the right temperature. We will definitely be coming back in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBath, General Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your stay at the Royal Bath Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you are considering booking with us again in the summer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. Many thanks & Kind regards, Gill Stringer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.4 km away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.6 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Property: Royal Bath
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel in turreted building located on 3-acre cliff-edge garden, with views over bay & Purbeck Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing