We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little hotel with a big welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great little hotel with a big welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

'Abbeyfield' was everything we had hoped for, and more. The hotel has been beautifully and sympathetically renovated - while very comfortable and well appointed, it retains its elegant period features. Jeff and Sandra's tasteful decor enhances its spacious, light and airy feel.
The couple's high standards are again evident in their catering - food is high quality, varied, plentiful and meticulously prepared.
Jeff and Sandra are warm and friendly yet unobtrusive, always ready to offer tips and advice on making the holiday enjoyable. On arrival, Jeff made us a lovely pot of tea, making us feel instantly at home and at ease. Our only problem was wishing we could have stayed longer than our three days, but we have promised ourselves we will visit 'Abbeyfield' again as soon as we are able. Torquay is a wonderful resort, and Jeff and Sandra's hotel is to its credit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    55
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
346
16
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harold Wood, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

My partner and I recently stayed for 3 nights and we can not speak highly enough of the time we spent there. The room was spotless, the bed was far too comfotable and the selection of breakfasts available was first class. Jeff and Sandra were very accomodating to any requests. We would definitely stay there again and would strongly recommend to anyone looking to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenjbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Just back from a 5 night stay here. Great location. Owners Geoff and Sandra are very friendly and helpful, great breakfast. Room was spotlessy clean with hairdryer, toiletries, tea and coffee, iron, tv and lovely decoration. Will cook an evening meal for you and there is a bar. Would staythere again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barkerk2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

This B&B has everything going for it. Excellence decor, Clean Tidy. plenty of parking, quiet location yet easily walkable to the town and harbour. Breakfast was one of the best. with the fruit salad being simply superb. One of Jeff's nighbours told me that Jeff was a chef and it shows. Evening meals available too - but didnt try these. Offered tea on arrival and Jeff gave a great run down on the local attractions.

Room Tip: We had a bround floor room opposite the main door. Really easy to get to - great view over the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianfromnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

This really is a first-class guesthouse. It's beautifully furnished in the modern style, and spotlessly clean. It's located in a quiet area of Torquay and parking was no problem. My room was light and airy with a comfortable bed and an efficient shower. Breakfast was excellent – fresh fruit and full English breakfast cooked to order. The owners Jeff and Sandra couldn't have been kinder or more helpful, and as a solo traveller it was nice to have someone talk to and have a drink with at the end of the day. I normally stay in one of the big hotels but this is just as good (and a lot more economical!). Top marks from me!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.2 km away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
1.5 km away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.5 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
4.1 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Property: Abbeyfield Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#5 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#7 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing