We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
197
229
104
35
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
197
229
104
35
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shearings holiday shearings hotels self drive coach driver dining room per day bus stop our waiter entertainment every night bus service each evening buffet breakfast special thanks served hot friendly hotel great holiday kippers
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Cannot fault our Friday to Monday trip to Bay Tor Park Hotel, the Décor is very 70s through out most of the Hotel & it's a bit creaky, however the rooms are clean,good three course evening meal & buffet breakfast and the staff are helpful.
We had three nights of entertainment ( two of them very good) each night starting with Bingo, then a Quiz, on the Friday we had female singer from Wales ( sorry I cannot remember her name) who was excellent and on the Sunday Evening we had a comedian from Yorkshire who had us crying with laughter, we won't forget him. There is a good bus service that will take you on a short journey into Torquay that stops right outside of the hotel and runs every 15 mins even on a Sunday.
This was our first time of taking Coach trip away with Shearings but I'm sure it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Wendy291

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Tor Park Hotel. Its really pleasing to hear that for your first Shearings coach holiday you chose our hotel and you had such a great time that you want to book another. I will enjoy passing on your lovely comments to the team who all work very hard to make your stay an enjoyable one and I do hope you will return and stay here again one day.

Kind Regards

Aneta Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Had a wonderful week at this hotel the food was tasty fresh and hot the staff were helpful and friendly .entertainment was passable but the turns was very amusing made me laugh out loud a lot ,only one thing our room was on a floor in between lifts was a bit awkward to get up down the stairs ,but over all enjoyed it,our waitress called Sharon was brilliant 10/10

Room Tip: Either get a top floor or low floor
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaynesimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear jaynesimpson

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Tor Park Hotel.

It's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and your comments for the staff are very much appreciated. It's also nice to hear you will take away some very happy moments from your stay and I hope you will return and stay again.

Kind Regards

Aneta Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Eight day Shearings coach holiday was enjoyable, if not varied in ANY way.
Having done this holiday the previous year, the excursions were the same (expected), the food in the hotel was the same, bland, not varied, and small portion sizes.
Entertainment every night is a bonus at this hotel but seeing the same artists each time you go there is not.
Dean Winters, Ben Nickless, Ian Gillet, and the two girl singers "in red" all use the same material every time.
Service in the dining room at meal times leaves a lot to be desired as we waited for 20 minutes between courses on three nights.
If you're really UNLUCKY you will even get a room with a TV that has channel names and menu in POLISH. We did !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank TrevShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear TrevShaw

Thank your for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Tor Park Hotel. We appreciate all reviews, both positive and negative as it is through this process that we are able to review the product we offer you, our guests.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us this time. Guests return to stay at a hotel for many different reasons. The vast majority return because they have enjoyed what they received so much they want to 'do it again'. As a company we do listen to our customers when they tell us what they enjoy and the vast majority return because they want more of the same. We always try to 'tinker' with the details without changing the basic formula.
I apologise for the poor service you received as we were short of staff due to circumstances beyond our control.
As to the Entertainment, which is always well received by our guests, only one entertainer was a repeat from last year (Dean Winters). All the other entertainers were new to the hotel for 2017-so you must have seen them elsewhere which is again beyond our control.

Had you reported your TV problem to reception it would have been sorted immediately.

I do hope your future holidays will be more to your liking.

Kind Regards

Aneta Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Hotel looks tired outside but inside it was okay in most parts. Still needs a little TLC but on the whole was fine. Our room No 64 had been refurbished and was fine apart from an elephant living upstairs !!!! The floor of the upstairs room was really bad. Every time they moved it squeaked. I know you have to put up with some noise, i'm not intolerant, but this was worst room I've ever stayed in for the squeaky floorboards above. That is the only criticism though as food good, staff very friendly, entertainment most nights was fine. Bus service No12 into Newton Abbott one way, and down into Torquay, Paignton and then Brixham the other way. If not got pensioner pass it only costs £5 for a day pass. Really enjoyed our stay here with Shearings.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank KarenChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Karen

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Tor Park Hotel.
I can only apologise for the noise you heard from the room above. When these rooms were refurbished all the floorboards were re-fixed to prevent noise but obviously every guests has different 'life styles'.

However, I am very happy that all other aspects of your holiday were to your liking and it is really pleasing that you enjoyed your stay

Kind Regards

Aneta Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Stayed here for a week September 2017. Comfortable beds, food quite good. We were on a coach holiday so didn't expect luxury. Lounge area could do with more seating. Very noisy as there was entertainment and bingo. This suited some (not me). Hotel is rather remote from town and beach but for those fit enough it is about 15 minutes walk. Regular bus service. Poured of rain most of the time so will look so much better when the sun shines. It was a marathon to reach our bedroom each evening up and down staircases and along several corridors. Staff very pleasant, especially waitresses.

Room Tip: Can only comment on our room which was quite nice
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Doreen B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

I am glad that in most aspects you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found most parts of your holiday enjoyable. How I wish we could make the sun shine always! However, by the sound of it this didn't prevent you having a good holiday at the Tor Park Hotel and I do hope you will return.

Kind Regards

Aneta Ege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews