We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made a birthday getaway very special and one to remember!!”
Review of Kingsholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsholm Hotel
Ranked #9 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Made a birthday getaway very special and one to remember!!”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We had another fantastic break, with the hospitality being first class. Everything about the hotel is perfect ... Location ... Rooms and the friendliness of the owners just to name of few. Not forgetting the great breakfast in the mornings!! Will definitely be coming back. Thank you both.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Darney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    42
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
480
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My wife and I booked into room 4 which is spacious and was spotlessly clean. The dining room is well laid out and offers a superb choice of continental or full english breakfast. The decor throughout the house is immaculate.

In the evenings it was just a few minutes walk to a restaurant to eat and then we returned to the hotel to relax and share a bottle of wine (At a very competitive price) in the very comfortable lounge.

The only diificulty is the steps that lead from the road upto the house but although my wife does have reduced mobilty she was able to take her time and managed very well. She feels that the comfort and service we received at The Kingsholm Hotel outweighed her access difficulties. June and Carl were the perfect hosts.

We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband and friends in Finland where I teach medical English worried about my traveling solo through England at age 75. No problems here!. Even the hills of Torquay were not daunting; they provided good, gentle exercise. Choosing a top-of-the-house room when I had other choices was easy, as Carl did the luggage lugging. The room was spotless (like rooms in squeaky-clean Finland), the bed comfortable, neither too firm nor soft, the duvet lovely and warm. The room temperature was optimal. I liked the bright color-scheme in my favorite turquoise. I had all that I needed at hand, from hot-water pot to many lighting fixtures to choose from, to a TV easy to handle. Cell-phone reception was good, unlike in areas to the north, and the room had electronics including hair drier and powerpoints for camera-battery and phone-charging.

I wish that I could have stayed more than two nights there, on my ten-day trek across England. I came for the palms (Florida-raised) and sea (sailor's daughter), not to mention the March warmth of Devon. Reaching shops and good restaurants, even a shop featuring Ben & Jerry's ice cream meant a short walk in a town that felt safe even at 9 in the evening.

As for food, their breakfasts--one of which I immortalized in a cell-phone camera portrait sent to my friends at home--combined healthy choices and was so ample that it lasted me into mid-afternoon. They cater to each of my several food sensitivities. I could have availed myself of other advantages, like the friendly folks conversing in the cozy parlor, but I spent one day walking to and from the famous cave and needed a rest.

Carl and June both provided warm, intelligent, concerned attention rather than superficial friendliness. This couple knows their business, but do not seem to be IN business mainly for gain. They concentrate on pleasing and protecting those travelers lucky enough to find them almost by accident.

In short, Kingsholm was a little paradise for an older woman traveling alone and appreciative of sincere interest and caring. A highly recommended experience..

Room Tip: I chose to be at the very top of the house, looking out on the former monastery. I worried about tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is excellent in every respect. It is maintained to a high standard and the decor throughout is very tasteful. Both bedrooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. There is a good choice at breakfast, with the "full English" being perfectly cooked and presented. The location is convenient for the harbour, the shops and a variety of restaurants. The owners are very professional, yet have the skills to ensure that everyone feels welcome and relaxed. We stayed for 6 nights and can confidently recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieHnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaw - UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

What a great B & B - spotlessly clean, nicely decorated & a superb breakfast made with good quality ingredients. June & carl made us very welcome. The room was a little small but we were only there for the weekend so it was ok, other rooms are larger. Its only a few minutes walk to the center where there was a great choice of restaurants (booking recommended at weekends)
The only negative was the number of steps for those with disabilities but that can be said of most of the hotels in the area. Great value for money

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Al_Shaw_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.2 km away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.2 km away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#8 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
1.7 km away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsholm Hotel

Property: Kingsholm Hotel
Address: 539 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsholm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsholm is a fine Edwardian guest house situated only 350 metres from Torquays famous harbour and town centre with some of Torquays finest restaurants just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kingsholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsholm Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing