We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cary Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$125
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$154
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marstan(Torquay)
US$123
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$108
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
490
48
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
48
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbyo barfour poster bedshared balconygreat hostsswimming poolplaces to visitlocal areawarm welcomeguest houseenglish rivierafull englishsteep hillshort breaka wonderful staysecond to nonemany thanksgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We are regular hotel stayers and also visitors to Torquay, honeymooned here 33 years ago, but found this Guest House the best.

The rooms are great especially the 4 posters and lovely large showers. The decor throughout is superb and very homely and the proprieters have filled it with their own family photos.

The garden is very tropical and lovely to sit out in, we had a lovely late afternoon and evening sitting on the upper balcony which looked down on the garden and pool.

They also have a "dry bar" situated in a homely conservatory which has glasses,ice making and even a lemon to add to "bring your own" desires.

The walk into town is quite short and a bit hilly but if you follow the route given it is not a problem down or up !!!

We will deefinately be returning here over and over again

Many thanks to Paul and Linda xx

Room Tip: Go for the 4 poster rooms, but all rooms have only showers
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FisherK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Good show all round - comfortable, clean, hands-off, there when you need them (and funny with it), and, best of all, a brilliant breakfast. Great value. And the BYO bar was an added bonus.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank fanofdevon0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

No offence to the proprietors but this is the right hotel in the wrong town! Superbly friendly B&B, great value rooms/breakfast, lovely garden and outlook will make a stay a winner. So if you have to be in Torquay, then make sure the Cary Court is top of your list.
But, fundamentally, the town is just a downmarket, congested, mess and most of the enjoyment for discerning travellers is to be found starting 10 miles (and 20 minutes) away to the north, west or south.
Paul and Linda helped us get our bearings for trips around the region and their positive attitude infused the whole of this lovely house. They take everything in their stride and have added a whole lot of little extras to their service which really make the experience of being there a delight, as many guests have noticed.
If only they could pick this business up and set it down somewhere nicer on the coast! It's about all that would make it better...

Room Tip: Garden views make sense when they have put so much effort into the grounds
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJHfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had yet another wonderful weekend at Cary Court, this time to celebrate my significant birthday.
We just love it here!
The bedrooms are are light, airy and spacious, and I just loved my four-poster bed.
We all took breakfast in the dining room, enjoyed our 'bring-your-own' cocktails at the bar and provided our own entertainment in the large, comfortable lounge during the evening.
This is the perfect place for us all to stay. Paul and Linda make us so welcome and look after us very well.
The town centre and harbour area is within walking distance, together with many restaurants, bars and cafes.
We had a celebratory lunch at Steps Bistro, on Paul and Linda's recommendation. They had themed one section of it for my birthday, and provided the cake too. It was delicious!!!

We all look forward to returning in the very near future.

Room Tip: If you want something special, the four-poster rooms are charming.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gardengirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The Cary Court is now our indisputable No 1 choice of where to stay whenever we are in the Torquay area for family get-togethers. It is refreshingly quirky (a bit like its owners, Paul and Linda), and at the same time supremely comfortable. This time our bigger-than-usual family group was lucky enough to be able to take over the whole hotel, as it was being kept open later in the season than usual in order to coincide with a very significant birthday for one of our number. The breakfasts are great, the lounge cosy, the bring-your-own bar/conservatory perfect for preparing cocktails; and good town-centre restaurants are within walking distance (or only a very short taxi-ride away if you're too full for the climb back up the hill). Bliss.

Room Tip: There's a suite on the ground floor which is great if travelling with a baby — it provides plenty of space for all the essential paraphernalia.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nileflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews