We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“As good as the reviews suggest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cary Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cary Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“As good as the reviews suggest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

It's not often that a place lives up to expectations, but in this case it did. All the reviews are on the mark. We had a great stay despite less than perfect weather. The welcome, friendliness, room, food, cleanliness, garden, location, in fact everything was perfect. A proper home from home. If only we could have stopped for longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milliwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    44
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
73
328
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We are regular hotel stayers and also visitors to Torquay, honeymooned here 33 years ago, but found this Guest House the best.

The rooms are great especially the 4 posters and lovely large showers. The decor throughout is superb and very homely and the proprieters have filled it with their own family photos.

The garden is very tropical and lovely to sit out in, we had a lovely late afternoon and evening sitting on the upper balcony which looked down on the garden and pool.

They also have a "dry bar" situated in a homely conservatory which has glasses,ice making and even a lemon to add to "bring your own" desires.

The walk into town is quite short and a bit hilly but if you follow the route given it is not a problem down or up !!!

We will deefinately be returning here over and over again

Many thanks to Paul and Linda xx

Room Tip: Go for the 4 poster rooms, but all rooms have only showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FisherK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Good show all round - comfortable, clean, hands-off, there when you need them (and funny with it), and, best of all, a brilliant breakfast. Great value. And the BYO bar was an added bonus.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fanofdevon0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

No offence to the proprietors but this is the right hotel in the wrong town! Superbly friendly B&B, great value rooms/breakfast, lovely garden and outlook will make a stay a winner. So if you have to be in Torquay, then make sure the Cary Court is top of your list.
But, fundamentally, the town is just a downmarket, congested, mess and most of the enjoyment for discerning travellers is to be found starting 10 miles (and 20 minutes) away to the north, west or south.
Paul and Linda helped us get our bearings for trips around the region and their positive attitude infused the whole of this lovely house. They take everything in their stride and have added a whole lot of little extras to their service which really make the experience of being there a delight, as many guests have noticed.
If only they could pick this business up and set it down somewhere nicer on the coast! It's about all that would make it better...

Room Tip: Garden views make sense when they have put so much effort into the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJHfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had yet another wonderful weekend at Cary Court, this time to celebrate my significant birthday.
We just love it here!
The bedrooms are are light, airy and spacious, and I just loved my four-poster bed.
We all took breakfast in the dining room, enjoyed our 'bring-your-own' cocktails at the bar and provided our own entertainment in the large, comfortable lounge during the evening.
This is the perfect place for us all to stay. Paul and Linda make us so welcome and look after us very well.
The town centre and harbour area is within walking distance, together with many restaurants, bars and cafes.
We had a celebratory lunch at Steps Bistro, on Paul and Linda's recommendation. They had themed one section of it for my birthday, and provided the cake too. It was delicious!!!

We all look forward to returning in the very near future.

Room Tip: If you want something special, the four-poster rooms are charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardengirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 km away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.1 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
4.2 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
1.6 km away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#4 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Court Hotel

Property: Cary Court Hotel
Address: Hunsdon Road, Torquay TQ1 1QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Cary Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cary Court was built over a century ago on part of the Cary Estate. It is a "Plantation" style house, peacefully situated in the leafy Warberries, a quiet conservation area, yet only a few minutes from restaurants, shops, theatre, night life and Marina. Cary Court is a Bed and Breakfast Guest House offering tastefully and comfortably furnished accommodation with a mixture of period and Antique pieces. The bedrooms, some with Four-Poster beds some with King-size beds are all en suite, all have televisions, complimentary beverage trays, hair dryers and free wi-fi. Cary Court is renowned for its "Full English Breakfasts" served in elegant surroundings with views over the Verandah and subtropical garden. There is a heated out door pool surrounded by south facing gardens and sundecks. There is car parking on site for eight to ten vehicles supplemented by un restricted on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cary Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cary Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing