We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
204
117
43
35
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
117
43
35
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service mr rew four courses rotary club dining room sea view grand piano traditional hotel course dinner sunday lunch public rooms restaurant staff second to none first class sea front hotel is situated waiting staff
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Popped in to see what it was like. Blown away by the fabulous atmosphere. We're immediately welcomed by management and shown around the fabulous restaurant. We stayed for a drink in the lovely bar. Will definitely be coming back to stay.

Room tip: All fabulous.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Managed to mess up 2 tuna sandwiches at lunch. Took three attempts. Our room was hot. Asked if they had any fans. Yes was the answer. Then had to request a further 3 times before one was delivered finally after we had gone to bed. Dinner was booked for 19.00. No staff appeared before 19.30. They were saved by Ian the pianist! Staffing problems because of an awards dinner...not an excuse. However, the food was good when it arrived.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nickmBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Well-staffed tour and event venue hotel. Busy and getting a little worn - both public and guest rooms. Some small upgrades would make a big difference: new shower head, replacement kettle, provide fan in bedroom.

Conference worked efficiently - everyone got served drinks and sandwiches in the bar at lunchtime. Lager fine, bitter hadn’t kept well.

Breakfast very trad; half board is the bargain with solid 4-course dinner.

Lots of own parking. Five minute walk to start of prom, another ten to the harbour area.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

I stayed here with my mum during May 2018 for four days / three nights. This is a lovely hotel and all of the staff and management are welcoming, helpful, friendly and keen to ensure that your stay here is thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is situated opposite the sea with obviously a beautiful sea view and there are very convenient regular buses into Torquey and Paignton. The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable and lift access to the different floors is very useful. The cuisine at this hotel is absolutely outstanding and served with silver service. Each of the four courses and each meal was of high class restaurant quality and we really were not expecting this. This hotel, its restaurant, staff and location is highly recommended and we will definitely return here.

Room tip: Only stayed in one room - wouldn't know this!
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

I have stayed at the Livermead House Hotel many times now over the past few years and have never been disappointed. The restaurant is one of the best you will find anywhere. It sticks to traditional English Food but there is plenty of choice in the evenings and a wonderful selection for breakfast. The service is top class, you won't find better anywhere. There is a pleasant bar and several spacious lounges including evening entertainment. Many of the rooms look out to sea, all the rooms I have stayed in have had comfortable beds and nice bathrooms with plenty of hot water. I would strongly recommend it.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CliveHelenFagin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews