We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
46
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews within easy walking distance hospitality tray dining room single room lots of choice every morning enjoyable stay first class vicki hosts seafront
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Stayed at Melba House for three night August 2016. If you are looking for a friendly guest house for a relaxing stay, look no further. Steve and Vicky are fantastic hosts, they make you feel very welcome and nothing is to much trouble. The room had a lovely outlook and was spotless, breakfast was excellent, you should never be hungry, plenty of choice. Excellent position only Five minutes walk to all ammenities and sea front. Steve and Vicky were very helpful in recommending places to visit and local restaurants, for which we were very grateful for, being new to the area. A fantastic stay, thank you very much, and we will definitely stay at the Melba in the future. Julie & Mark (Midlands)

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_220714, Owner at Melba House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review! It was lovely to meet you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you come again soon, Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at Melba House, great location and amazing view to the park. Vicki and Steve were both lovely and made our stay even more special :) We're already planning our next visit and would definitely recommend!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank giorgoskatsarosgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_220714, Owner at Melba House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review - we are so glad you enjoyed staying with us. Please come back and see us soon, Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Had a warm greeting and welcome from Vicki who went out of her way to make sure we have a great stay. Breakfast were so many choices, really clean and comfortable bed with a tidy bedroom. Great view from the window as well as the dining room. Close to Torquay down town its a bout 10-15 minutes walk.

Room Tip: only this was missing is A/C however the weather was fine
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Saeed5838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_220714, Owner at Melba House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Many thanks Saeed for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you and also Raschid and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit to the UK, Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

We just came from.a weekend stay here. We had a fabulous time. The hosts are very friendly and will do.anything for you. We had breakfast every morning and it was delicious. And plenty of it. We had choice of cereals and yoghurt and fruit juices and plenty of fruit. Then after that we had toast and then full English . Ther was also smoked salmon and scrambled eggs . We had tea and coffee facilities in our room which is very handy. Our room was beautiful and very clean. The en suite was more than a generous size and again very very clean. Wardrobes and drawers were plenty big enuf. The whole of our party was on the same bit of corridor / landing which was great. Lovely big windows to open as the weather was boiling. The hosts were very helpfull in telling us where certain places were which was a great help. We would definitely stay here again and would also recommend it.to any one. A lovely little gem. Once again I would like to.thank the hosts for their fabulous hospitality... thank you. ... cheryl and darren worgan ( room 6) x

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_220714, Owner at Melba House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

What a brilliant review! Many thanks for your kind words - it was lovely to meet you all and we are delighted that you had such a good time. Hope to see you all again soon, Vicki and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Melba House Hotel was a real find! An excellent bedroom.A substantial breakfast and a most pleasant and helpful hostess! Melba House is also within comfortable walking distance of Torquay town.I believe it only has six bedrooms and this seemed to add to the friendly attitude of the other guests towards each other.

Room Tip: I am afraid I didnot see the other rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ra-buckby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_220714, Owner at Melba House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2015

Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you'll come and visit us again soon, Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews