We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal and service”

The Ocean Drive Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 372 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Ocean Drive Restaurant and Steakhouse in Torquay we take pride in offering great menus at affordable prices, with a wide variety of choices to suit all tastes. Our chefs and staff meet with the highest standards and excellence of customer service to ensure you can enjoy your evening with us. Your visit to the Ocean Drive Restaurant will be a memorable experience, and we hope you will make many return visits. Decorated with memorabilia from favourite American stars of the silver screen, our indoor restaurant rooms have extensive seating areas to choose from on two levels. We also have lots of outdoor seating in the garden which is a great place to meet up or relax after your meal.
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Yesterday we visited ocean drive after hearing from friends and family that it had been taken over by new management, The young ladies Taylor and Elle were so polite and well spoken we had many conversations and they seemed really interested in what we had to say, we mentioned how good our meals was and Taylor told us the chefs names which were bios and Danny I was very happy with my visit and will be returning when next in the area

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank susanlexley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay J, General Manager at The Ocean Drive Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to seeing you when your next in the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We have been here many times over the years and absolutely loved it. How ever... it
has now changed hands and it has ruined the place in our eyes. The service was shocking, we spent our starter hearing about the waitresses itchy eczema and face book issues. Then after an average tasting starter we heard the chef exclaim “for f&@ sake” when we had finished as he was busy?! We were the only two people in there!! We said we wanted to leave and they tried to tell us that we couldn’t, after explaining that the prolific use of the f word was not what we were after whilst having a romantic meal, nor the barely average tasting food. We asked to speak to the owner who we were told was not there, after pointing out that we knew he was upstairs we were told that it was not him we had to talk to. Needless to say we left and would never go back. Such a shame, this place and food and service were absolutely impeccable a few years back. Bring back the old owners and staff!!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Muaythaivic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

I am never the type of person to order steak out although I was pleasantly surprised of how nice my food was... a bit pricey for what you get, however. An older lady with short, blonde hair was lovely and made our experience worthwhile, she was a lot more ‘with it’ than the younger staff and had a lovely personality.
Now, I can understand that with under new management it may be difficult, however, we witnessed member of staff literally swearing obscenities loudly in front of customers behind the counter when it was clear they didn’t know what the hell they were doing. Also, a member of kitchen staff would make her way through the restaurant to use the toilet on occasion, it doesn’t look very good whilst still in her apron! There was also a £5 charge on our bill underlined as simply “yes,” what is this???? probably wouldn’t visit again, a lot of disorganised chaos.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank slwrmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We were seated in a very small conservatory with condensation forming on the windows and had to ask for the door to be opened. Nobody came to ask for our drinks order so we had to go to the bar and ask for someone to take our order. That took 40 minutes. In the meantime the waitress was clearly heard at the next table complaining that the staff were being slow this evening as the new one likes talking too much but the only one we could see was this waitress who clearly had way to much to say. Our drinks arrived and food order taken. Our starters arrived an hour after sitting down and the waitress complained that she was shattered. The same waitress seemed to spend most of our time there slouched over the bar complaining to customers.
Whilst the food was good the one waitress let the place down with her complaining. Also the ‘Hollywood’ statues of film stars were very tired and had paint flaking off them and looked very sorry and tired like the staff. We won’t be back. Awful place.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Dreadful meal. Table booked for 7.30 starters 9 o'clock. Main course 9.50. Took 30 mins for someone to even acknowledge we were there and take drinks orders. Out of 13 meals 5 were inedible. We had to fight to get 3 taken off the bill. Wrong starters, steaks all cooked wrong. Tried to pass a rump steak off as a fillet. Everything so so very wrong... Definitely won't go back

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank lyndan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ocean Drive Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Ocean Drive Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing