We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and chips ”
Review of The Shiphay Chippy

The Shiphay Chippy
Ranked #156 of 372 Restaurants in Torquay
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Fish and chips really good here there is lots to choose from and gets really busy worth getting in early

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Used this place recently on a recommendation to try the roast meat & chips. I wasn’t disappointed the lamb was beautiful & the chips delicious, portions were a generous. The only down side was the fish, although a good size I have to agree with other reviews that the majority of it was a very thick greasy batter. This wouldn’t deter me from going again because there is such a varied menu & you can choose not to have batter. The staff were super friendly as well which is always a bonus.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank PrincessJane67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Always had great fish and chips here until the new owner took over. The chips were greasy and the batter on the fish was still soft. We have been there a few times since it's been taken over but each time is the same so we've now decided to go elsewhere. The new owner seems so intent on cooking everything else like roast beef, yorkshire puddings etc rather than concentrating on serving decent fish and chips. Unfortunately other local people in Shiphay which I have spoken too have felt the same. The only positive is that you get a decent portion but I think they should concentrate on quality rather than quantity

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sksnls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Ordered our meal by telephone for collection for a birthday treat but on arriving at the agreed collection time they had not even started to cook the food. Children then had to attend swimming club so missed out on eating the food at all. Very poor customer service.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Most food is cooked to order, so you get exactly what you want and it's all fresh. Decent sized portions and prices. Friendly staff. Would go again.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blakey4924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shiphay Chippy also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Shiphay Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing