We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
278
302
107
43
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
278
302
107
43
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace room indoor bowling other hotels tlh group kb sounds aztec pool games room ballroom dancing dance break table tennis riviera room starlight lounge leisure facilities restaurant service dance floor family room steam room
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 749 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

First class hotel , lots of thing to do here for everyone, staff are really friendly and very attentive, food is amazing , room are quite to can’t fault this hotel it’s got

it all , first time for me to Torquay and toorak hotel is fantastic thank u for looking after us so well you deserve to be a 4 star

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 239clarissah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Clarissa,

Thank you for your very high praise and I will pass your kind comments onto the team at the hotel. I am glad that you found the food to be to your liking and the staff looked after you well. As you rightly say there is plenty to do onsite for all ages and we hope that you will choose us again in the future if you decide to visit Torquay again.

Bets wishes - Ben Raven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The facilities are shared between 4 hotels in the group so can get very busy. The Indoor pool is a highlight but this seems to be the only part of the hotel that money is funnelled into. The room we had was in bad condition and not very clean. Brown stains on the walls, dirty bathroom (and ancient to top it off) and floors were not vacuumed - there was food and confetti on the carpet that remained the duration of the 3 nights we stayed. Food is terrible and limited. Parking is also a nightmare in the summer season. Staff are all very nice but this hotel needs a total revamp - we left happy to go home!

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank Reena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Reena,

I am really sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us, I am sorry to hear that you did not let us know at the time that you were not happy with your room as we will always do our best to find you a alternative. I am shocked to hear that you did not enjoy the food as we very rarely get any negative feedback about this. I will follow up your comments and am saddened to hear that we did not meet your expectations.

Bets wishes - Ben Raven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Arriving at the hotel we found a parking space Find it is best to time your arrival after check out but before check in for your best chance of getting a space It does get very busy and there can be inconsiderate parking by other guests we saw one car that had parked right across the exit to one car park Perhaps valet parking might be a solution at busy times
We this time chose to upgrade to a Terrace room which was well worth the extra The bathroom looked as if it had recently been refurbished with a very nice finish The only negative being a shower curtain on the bath which tended to stick to you A screen would be much smarter
The room was very clean
I do expect the room could be very warm if the weather was hot as the only windows are the French doors Fine if you don't mind leaving them open overnight which normally isn't a problem with a balcony room but this is a shared terrace
The food in the restaurant is of a very good standard for the hotels three stars A great choice at breakfast with mostly good quality ingredients the only suspect items were the sausages
Dinner was also very good with a reasonable choice of well prepared and cooked dishes The waiting staff are very friendly and should be commended on their service Might be nice to have your own waiter/waitress assigned to your table
We especially enjoyed KB sounds al fresco evening
We hope to return but if we do return as a couple we may choose a quieter time perhaps when the Toorak is adults only
But thank you to all the staff for your polite considerate and friendly service

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank rosie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Rosie,

Thank you for your very kind review and I am happy to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the terrace room upgrade room that we have. I am also happy to hear that you found it worth the extra cost. We do have a parking warden patrolling the car parks and this is helping create more spaces for guests parking, however as you say we still can get the odd person park inconsiderately. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food that we offer and I am glad that you found the staff to be friendly and offered good service. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the KB sounds al fresco night and are thinking of returning at a quieter time of year. We do have a dance break at the Toorak which is adults only hosted by Kevin of KB sounds which may be of interest to you. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Many Thanks Ben Raven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

A lovely weekend although the weather was wet lots to do on site loved it .
The evening entertainment was also good lots to do for children .
The swimming pools were popular there is 2 outdoor and 2 indoor pools ,bowls ,10 pin bowling ,food was exceptional .
Would have no hesitation in going again .

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Micko1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Mick,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review and I am glad that you had a very enjoyable stay and made the most of the facilities that we have here at the complex. It is very nice to hear that you found the food to a high standard and enjoyed the entertainment. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for more of the same.

Bets wishes Ben Raven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Good to be back at the Toorak although it’s not the hotel it was 30 years ago they are working well to maintain their standards and pleased to note they have refurbished some rooms and at last have replaced the outdated bathrooms. The relaxed ambience is still there and the restaurant is very good for a 3 star hotel and the chef deserves my compliments as his quality’s of food and presentation would compete in a much higher establishment my only concern is there is only a choice of 3 items for the main course but as long as you are happy with that you will enjoy. The service although we missed Isabella this year they have found another friendly and efficient waitress in Jade G who had a lovely breath of fresh air welcome about her, which put you in a good mood to start the meal. So all in all you won’t be disappointed staying here and enjoying the entertainment and facilities that the group of hotels offer.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Keith,

Thank you for your very kind review and I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am very pleased with your comment that you found the improvements that we have made in the rooms to be up to a high standard and we hope to continue working on them all. I will pass your very kind comments about the food on to the chef who will be happy to hear your high praise. I will also pass on to Jade your very nice comments regarding her service, it is nice to hear that she made your dining experience a memorable one. We hope to welcome you again next year for more of the same.

Many Thanks Ben Raven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews