We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,790)
Filter reviews
2,790 results
Traveller rating
866
898
553
286
187
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
866
898
553
286
187
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscompass barhotel garagesea viewtrain stationagatha christiecream tealounge barpublic areasoutdoor poolsunday lunchsea frontleisure facilitiessome tlcbit datedwaiting stafffamily roombiscuits
Filter
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 2,790 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We booked the Sheer Indulgence package with the Body Massage and afternoon tea. We found all the staff was very professional and made your experience a pure pleasure the massage was to a high standard. We had use of the spa pool and the Jacuzzi as well as the steam room which is a little old dated but still a great standard.
The afternoon tea afterwards was a great delight , the cakes was all home made and the scones is to die for ,one of the best afternoon teas I have ever had .
I be looking forward to my next visit to the grand hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triaxles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear triaxles,

Thank you for your review following your Spa package at The Grand.

I am delighted to read that you found your time with us to be enjoyable, and the afternoon tea was to die for!! We are extremely proud of these, and everything served is home-made - even down to the jam in the cream horns!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here Saturday til Monday 21st great location for town and views from the terrace areas. Great breakfast in the morning, lovely staff and service at all times nothing is too much trouble at all. Great location for travelling to other areas such as Paignton and brixham. Didn't get a chance to go in the outdoor pool but definitely would if we visit again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cath-Leonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Cath-Leonard,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following you recent stay at our hotel.

I am pleased to note that your found your stay to be an enjoyable one and the service the team delivered was excellent throughout.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We were invited to Sunday lunch as a party of 8 booked in advance on arrival two small round tables stuck together had been set for us so happy about this . We insisted on having another table that was set for us. The waiter did his job and was polite,however the food was of poor quality and cold vegetables not sufficiently cooked .The hotel interior is old fashioned and needs some refreshing. The view however is very nice and the bar personnel polite and efficient.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank britannia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Britannia_11,

Thankyou for your review following your recent visit for Sunday Lunch.

I am disappointed to read your comments, and am currently looking into this matter and apologise.

We are an extremely popular venue for Sunday lunch, and your comments are certainly not the norm and do apologise for this.

I am pleased however to note that you found the service polite & efficient.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Shades of past glories .Dark shades. The attempts to spruce the place up are a failure
and the paintwork in some of the public areas is amazingly awful. Our room on the fourth floor was grim and the splendid view across the bay was marred by the state of the window frame outside which was just unpainted rotting wood . The one (and only) redeeming feature was the food which was first class. This was unfortunately totally eclipsed by the service which was abysmal, Waited 30 mins for our drinks to arrive and a further 15 mins for the first course and 30 further mins for the main course, the waiter skilfully avoided eye contact with our table even after we grumbled.Total disaster.
To sum up this place I would say overpriced and the words mutton and lamb come to mind

Room Tip: Don't know. Probably choose one in another Hotel
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank GordonYarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear GordonYarm,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I am extremely disappointed to read your comments, and do apologise that you did not find your time with us as you had hoped.

I do regret have responding to the previous review who loved our old world charm, to your comments, however we are not a cookie-cutter style Premier Inn, and do have to work within the constraints of our hotel, and do assure you that we continually invest in numerous areas of the hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The Grand is in a great location near the Railway Station. Full of old world charm but with modern decor and amenities.
My bedroom was a sea view and was very clean and well maintained. TV, tea & coffee facilities etc.
A choice of evening dining in the A la Carte Restaurant or Brasserie is wonderful. Both menus offer a good selection and the Brasserie quality was brilliant. Prompt service but nice not to be rushed either.
An awesome choice for breakfast certainly was a good start to the day.
Thoroughly recommended throughout.

Room Tip: Sea views are great, don't forget your swimmies for the indoor and outdoor pools
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Ian C,

Thank you off taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay at The Grand.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our old world charm, and as a hotel with 135 years of history, we do take much pride in this.

We have worked hard over the last 18 months to develop our food offerings and our Brasserie is now an extremely busy restaurant in it's own right, along with our AA rosette awarded Restaurant 1881.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews