We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian takeaway”
Review of Bombay Express

Bombay Express
Reserve with OpenTable
Bombay Express is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 357 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$35
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bombay Express has been running for over 11 years in the English Riviera area, before Trip Advisor was a thing. I jest, we have the classic dishes as well as our own signature dishes. Fresh fish from the bay, and our own cocktails. The Indian Kitchen Fitter cocktail served in a light bulb is a firm favourite.
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

What a great experience---friendly helpful staff, lovely food and great prices. Add that to long opening hours and select beers and you've got a hit! Highly recommended for both sit in or take out.

Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rehan u, Owner at Bombay Express, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback

You can also order via our app.

If you dine in we also have discounts for NHS staff.

Have a great year

Rehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2017

The Bombay Express is an excellent Indian restaurant.
We were made very welcome. The food is of such a high standard. The staff are friendly & attentive. They were happy to go through the evening at our pace, no rush. Happy for us to take our time. We have travelled worldwide, including India & this food is heavenly & beats any. Thank you to all at The Bombay Express, especially the young lad who served us & was obviously in training but was charming & tried his best.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cowperstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rehan u, Owner at Bombay Express, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback,

It has been a longtime since i have responded to trip advisor. So glad to hear you had a well paced experience that was to your liking. As you can imagine every customer has different likes and dislikes so getting the service correct for all is a tall task.

The Bombay Team are all exceptional and try to go the extra mile where they can.

I have been busy travelling the UK with my company The Asian Restaurant Owners Network. Held our first major event in Oxford in the Snooty Mehmaan (a must visit of you are in the Oxfordshire area). The event was a huge success achieving national praise in the media across the country.

look forward to seeing you soon.

Have a great Year

Rehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Sadly, I hail from Birmingham... the best curries in the world. (I've enjoyed them in Delhi)!! So the Bombay Express wouldn't survive in my native city. Biriani is pretty straightforward & should have prolific infusions of spice & flavour. This one didn't. It was also cool in temperature & exactly twice the price of a Brummy one. Wine was the usual very expensive, too. No visible manager, just a couple of girls who were charming & attentive. I think I'll stick to Torquay's fish dishes in future

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rehan u, Owner at Bombay Express, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback BAB!

Why you would be sad to hail from Birmingham.....i guess only you could tell us that.

You are spoilt for choice in Birmingham with the £5 curries and rice and free starters and the yes sir no sir British raj service....But here in Torquay we are not little India, we are little Britain, sail boats , yachts and the seaside, where as Birmingham has the Birmingham Museum.

At this Museum you will find the Knights of the Raj Exhibition, within which takes you through the history of Bangladeshi cooking the original Indian restaurant creators.
The history of spice and where the true heritage lies with British Indian cuisine.

Remember you live in Birmingham, the home of a lot of Asians, where you have become accustomed to th epallette of the Indian.

In Torquay we cater towards our locals first and foremost whose palette is more British than Indian unlike yourselves.

Next time order our garlic chilli chicken with whole spice and bay leaf and mixed spices including a touch of chilli. And get down to the museum it will teach you really where the British curry originated from.

Managed to get 3 coach loads on December 11th so you can meet us there if you like. Or carry on in your state of i have more curry knowledge cos my town has 20 curry houses.

Have a great year

Rehan

PS We exported chicken tikka massala to Delhi.....British Curry is a major hit there look it up



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We had a delicious meal at the Bombay Express. As we are having building work carried out on our house, we need to eat out. We went on a Sunday evening and had great food and service. Every dish we ordered was beautiful cooked and the whole meal was very authentic.

1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Visited Torquay for one night and stayed in nearby Belmont bed and breakfast.
Originally went to local pub opposite but lack of any service.
Decided to move to this restaurant and immediately welcomed with smiles.
Service and food consistently to high standard in a very comfortable and pleasant environment. We are both veggies and fresh, tasty and colourful food,
Even got a small discount as we are public sector workers.
Keep up the good work.

1  Thank sukritisharma2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Express also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Bombay Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing