We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real find”

Hennessy Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated a short walk from Torquay harbour, the stylishHennessy Restaurant & Cocktail Lounge is the perfectsetting to enjoy some of the finest food in Torbay. Enjoy a drinkin the luxurious surroundings of the Cocktail Lounge beforetaking the sweeping staircase towards the 120-seatRestaurant.A new menu is introduced seasonally to reflect the freshestand best produce available sourced from carefully selectedlocal suppliers. From casual dining to special occasions tofunctions we cater for it all, from the smallest budget to theextravagant.
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Chanced our arm here tonight. . We are really happy we did. The food was wonderful . I had the pork main it was beautiful wife had fish àĺsò wonderful. Bottles of wine very reasonable . We were very well looked after by Meg all evening .highly recommend this restaurant

Date of visit: August 2014
1  Thank IanandJulieSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a 3 course meal for my girlfriends birthday. Booked in advance anticipating the restaurant being busy on a Saturday night. Waitress who served us was very polite.

The food was absolutely exquisite. I had the pork and my girlfriend had a steak. Compliments to the chef, everything was presented extremely well too.

One thing I didnt like was the fact that when the bill comes, the assumed 10% tip is already added on.
I like to be able to decide if I will tip, not be led into it. I appreciate that this is a personal preference, but can often leaves me irritated.

This was the only thing that dampened my otherwise enjoyable dining experience.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Food was amazing. restaurant had a great ambiance, with relaxing decor, and a handy cocktail bar upstairs

Date of visit: August 2014
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

had a few good nights out here in June ... The champagne was great ..We will be back again next year xxxx

Date of visit: June 2014
Thank denpsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Although there is only a small selection of vegetables they were all delicious! The option to have as many sausages as you wanted was definitely an extra bonus! The meat was either pork or beef (I would have preferred another alternative) but the meal was lovely!
The chocolate brownie cheesecake was a personal highlight and definitely worth a try!

1  Thank PrincessBx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hennessy Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing