We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab time”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
NEWQUAY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“fab time”
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Sheer value for money, excelent food, rooms a bit dated but clean, staff brilliants, and pool area excelent.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULIESPRINGETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    423
    143
    40
    29
See reviews for
344
305
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

we stayed at the derwent for my husbands and my friends birthday! we had a great time we were to young couples which had great time! the food was excelent and could not fault it at all and great service! we stayed on a dbb basis which wen then did drink inclusive too which was a promo for that weekend! brilliant if the offer is on !
the rooms are clean but small and the bed was a little hard, however we were lucky as our friends stayed in a room with a hole in there bed , but as we only dtayed 2 nights we decided to just leave it! that is the only negative thing i could say!
the swimming pool and sauna/steam room was fab both pools are lovely and the jacuzzi was ace!
the hotel is only 10mins from beach and sea front and 15min walk into town at most!
overall we enjoyed the break and would go back again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We went on a coach trip for Christmas. On arrival we found we had a bedroom which had a wash basin in it, and the toilet and bath were in a separate room. We asked if we could change rooms and were given a much more up to date bed- room with a new shower, wash hand basin and toilet all together, in the adjoining room. This was really our only complaint apart from the fact the entertainment could have been a little better in the evenings. The management of this hotel went out of their way to make everyone welcome, we got sweets in the room, a Christmas card from Jason the Manager and a present from Santa. The food was superb, so a big thank-you to Andy the chef, what an enormous task catering for so many people and getting it right every time. There are four hotels in this complex all with a very different feel and it was great to be able to just walk from one to the other without having to go outside. Lovely to talk to Chris Jackson who shared our love of line dancing and to meet some very nice people. We will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linedancelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Thank you for your kind words.
Happy New Year. Kindest regards. Jason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Went to the Derwent Hotel to celebrate New Year. Really enjoyed the 4 day break. Food was excellent, staff very friendly and the entertainment team worked extremely hard to ensure that a good time was had by all. The room, and bathroom, although not huge, were cosy and warm. This we appreciated as the weather outside was very cold. We are definately hoping to make a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This was our second 3 night break this year, and this was equally as good as the first one. Food, Staff entertainment all excellent. In the cold December air, this Hotel was always warm and friendly. Well done to all the staff. Food choices, the cooking of it and the serving of it was all first class. Will be back again

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
0.1 km away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
545 reviews
0.1 km away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
646 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
0.3 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Property: TLH Derwent Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing